Home > 2010, 2011, Me, Professional Development, Reviews, T-SQL Tuesday > T-SQL Tuesday #14 – Resolved to do better

T-SQL Tuesday #14 – Resolved to do better

TSQL2sDay150x150

This month’s #TSQL2sDAY is being hosted by Jen McCown (Twitter | Blog). The topic this month is about techie resolutions for this coming New Year. 

Review – You suck!

I am my worst critic and I can usually talk myself out of most things.  One of the hardest things for me to do last year was blog.  I still consider myself a newbie to the whole blogging thing.  I haven’t found my niche or what I am trying to convey.  I am still feeling a bit random about what to post.  My first blog post was my last year’s 2010 resolution [Blog].

Reflect – It was a year ago?

Wow, can’t believe a year just passed. 

I just posted my 2010 Review [Blog] and if I was actually being graded on these, I would be taking summer school. 

Resolved to do better

I am not so much into setting New Year’s Resolutions and as you can see from my 2010 review (link above) I did terrible.  This year the plan is to be as vague as possible to achieve higher scores (not really).  Instead of resolutions, I shall call these goals.

1. Take Microsoft SQL Server 2008 Cert Exam 70-432.  My primary reason is to keep up my skills and learn more about SQL Server areas that I don’t necessarily use in my day to day job.  Last year I set a goal for myself to take the 70-431 and passed it in July 2010 [Blog].

2. Participate in all T-SQL Tuesday Blog posts in 2011.  I participated in 3 events in 2010.

T-SQL Tuesday #08 – Lifetime of learning

T-SQL Tuesday #12 – Why are DBA Skills Necessary?

T-SQL Tuesday #13 – I don’t know what I want, but I want it

3. Write at least 1 SQL Server Blog post a month.

4. Volunteer\Help at SQL Saturday #68 in Olympia (April 2011).   If I am able to attend PASS in 2011 (3rd timer), I will volunteer there as well.  Hope my boss approves budget.

5. Continue to learn SSIS.  I worked on two projects this last year using SSIS, which I really enjoyed and hated at the same time.  It’s funny looking back at the first project that I built.  Oh, please nobody look at it.  HAND IN FACE.

Better planning, being more organized, and continue to grow as a DBA

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.