Home > 2011, Computers, Gadgets and Tools, HP Tablet PC, Windows 8 Developer Preview > Installing Windows 8 DP on HP Tablet TC1100 part 1

Installing Windows 8 DP on HP Tablet TC1100 part 1

In a previous post I wrote about how to get Windows 7 installed on the HP Tablet TC1100.  Now with the recent release of Windows 8 Developers Preview at Build I thought that I would give it a try on the HP Tablet TC1100.

Let’s get right into this.

I recommend a clean install and not an upgrade.  I had an extra disk lying around so I used that rather than my original W7 disk.  You can use existing image but format it during the install.  I don’t ever recommend upgrading OS.  I would rather have clean install.

Pre-Steps

1. Download the Windows Developers Preview 32-bit here (2.8 GB).

2. Download and create a bootable USB with the iso here. This makes the process so easy.  Click, click, walk away and boom, you have a bootable Windows 8 USB drive.  I used a 4 GB USB stick that you can get for $10 at Walmart.

Install process

1. BOOT HP TABLET TC1100 TO USB.  The following will allow you to boot from the USB stick. By default on the TC1100 you will not be able to boot from the USB Stick.

Put the USB Stick in the USB Slot on the computer.
Start up the Tablet and hit the jog dial and Launch System Setup.
Scroll over to the Advanced Tab
Scroll down to Boot Order and hit Enter
Select Hard Drive and hit Enter
Hit the -/+ to move up the USB drive to the top of the list.
Hit F10 to Save and Exit.
System should automatically boot to the USB drive.

2. Go through the usual installation options. Prepping the disk (format etc.), unpacking the image, installing, configuring, computer name, username, preparing devices, etc.

Boom you have Windows 8 Developers Preview Installed on your HP Tablet TC1100.

In my next post I will discuss configuring and installing drivers.

  1. rex
    October 6, 2011 at 7:14 pm

    Have you gotten the drivers to work on W8?

    • October 6, 2011 at 8:11 pm

      I have most drivers working, except wireless. Are you having issues?

  2. Ralph A Thomas-Smythe
    October 8, 2011 at 9:42 pm

    I have the same problem; no wireless. Ethernet controller is showing in Device Manager as a problem. I have all of the drivers for the tc1100 I can find on the HP web site in one folder on C:. When I try to update or reinstall the driver for the Ethernet Controller I get a message saying the computer cannot find the driver.

    Everything else checks out OK. I did a clean install of 8. Then installed five or six missing drivers. After that I connected to a wired LAN and activated 8.

    I need wireless to be able to use the tc1100 on a daily basis.

    Please post anything new you may have on this. Thanks.

    rats

    • October 10, 2011 at 6:17 pm

      Rats,

      I haven’t found a solution yet. Hope to get back into it later in the week. I will shoot you an email if I do find something. Let me know the same if you do.

      Thanks.
      Cameron

  3. October 12, 2011 at 8:19 am

    I am also having some problems. Please let me know if you have solutions.

  4. October 14, 2011 at 3:23 am

    WONDERFUL Post.thanks for share..extra wait .. ?

  5. October 17, 2011 at 10:59 pm

    Great article …Thanks for your great information, the contents are quiet interesting. I will be waiting for your next post.

  6. daniel
    May 18, 2012 at 6:49 am

    just connect wired connection and update wireless driver using windows update…
    how i can install tablet button drivers?

  7. Jack Ford
    September 7, 2013 at 5:38 pm

    Cameron:
    I followed your instructions and installed Windows 8 Pro on my TC1100. Right after the install, the pen worked. But then I ran Windows Update and after that I can’t get the pen to work. Nvidia and Qmenu work fine. I downloaded the Wacom driver from HP and reinstalled it in XP SP2, SP3 and Win 7 compatibility modes and none worked. I then opened device drivers right clicked on the Wacom and Windows again updated the driver. The pen still doesn’t work. Any suggestions.
    Thanks in advance

    • September 19, 2013 at 7:17 am

      Jack,

      Sorry for the delay. I would uninstall the driver and go back to the original HP driver. Worst case try to use a restore point to get you back before the update. I’m trying to recall that you may not need to install any Wacom driver for W8. I hope that works for you. I am unfortunately not able to install anything past the DP on the TC1100 because of the limitation in the cpu in mine. Because of that I have reverted back to W7 on it. But I did love W8 DP on it.

      Cameron

      • September 19, 2013 at 8:09 am

        I uninstalled Windows 8 and installed 7 between my email and your reply. 8 is too big a hassle on the TC1100.
        THANKS

  8. Dima
    November 6, 2016 at 10:23 am

    Hi! how you have installed Windows 8 on your TC1100?
    I have a problem… error code: 0xc0000260

    Cameron: “I am unfortunately not able to install anything past the DP ”
    Suggestions? whether to remove the original Windows XP?

    Is there any other operating system that would support the work of the pen and a minimum of Photoshop on it? or am I just a dreamer?

    • November 7, 2016 at 7:37 am

      Yes, I believe that after W8 DP they put a processor restriction. I could not install anything newer as well on the TC1100. I believe mine was a 1.0 GHz. I think that it will install on the 1.2 GHz, but I can’t confirm that.

      • Dima
        November 8, 2016 at 10:44 am

        And what OS I can install on a tablet to use it only for drawing in PhotoShop?
        (Ubuntu, Android, Linux, reinstall windows) to get maximum speed on it? what suggestion?

        I actually have 1 Mhz model with 700 Mb of memory… It’s realy slowly working on old WIn XP… but what OS better install on my tablet & how to do it?

      • January 10, 2017 at 1:08 pm

        Yeah, I think Windows 7 is the best OS on this device. Spend a bit of money ($15 on ebay) and get yourself a 1GB ram stick to add to the back which is easy access to get 1.5GB of ram, it will help a little. As far as running photoshop, I am not familiar with the software enough to give you an opinion whether the TC1100 can handle it. I don’t use the TC1100 for any heavy lifting it is really my yellow pad writing pad (OneNote).

        I love my Surface devices and use them now. The TC1100 barely gets used now.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

