Home > Dell Latitude 10, Tips and Tricks, Windows 8 > New Dell Latitude 10 on screen keyboard for BitLocker pin

New Dell Latitude 10 on screen keyboard for BitLocker pin

Not sure where I have been or if this is new with the A06 BIOS Update (07/10/2013).

Previously (before this update) if you enabled BitLocker you had to have a USB Keyboard connected to input the pin, but now you can use the on screen keyboard to input the pin.  Simply AWESOME!  I have been waiting for this since the release of Windows 8.

Thank you DELL!!!!

BIOS A06 – Fixes & Enhancements
1. Update Intel the latest code and need to use with version A06 or later Intel chipset driver posted on Support.Dell.com.
2. Fix BIOS flash utility display error when an admin password is set greater than 8 characters in BIOS SETUP.
3. Update the warning message in BIOS flash utility.
4. BIOS flash utility support password option.
5. Enhance Multiple Boot manager entries.
6. To improve system time shift.

Full screen BitLocker screen with touch keyboard

New Bitlocker Screen (Full Screen)

New on screen touch keyboard

New Bitlocker Screen (On Screen Keyboard)

 

Now the other vendors need to step up and get this implemented.  Way to go Dell leading the way.  Love it…

  1. Mike Guidry
    August 11, 2013 at 7:25 pm

    Cameron:

    Sure glad I found your site. I’ve been seriously looking for a Win8 tablet for a few weeks Tired of borrowing my son’s old netbook for travel. It runs decently with Win8 (no metro) but the SSD is really small and it keeps running out of space. Have finally been tempted by the Latitude 10 in the Microsoft store:

    http://www.microsoftstore.com/store/msusa/en_US/pdp/Dell-Latitude-10-Tablet/productID.265663500

    It seems like a pretty decent price and seems to be the one with the interchangeable battery, but haven’t been able to get an answer yet. None in the brick and mortar store here in Houston.

    The Dell website and documentation available on the site is atrocious. I do have a couple of questions if you don’t mind:

    Does the model that I linked to look like the one to buy for an ordinary power user not needing fingerprint or smart card reader?

    I know we will have the replacements for Clover Trail in a few months. Any opinion on whether it’s worth waiting?

    I see references to the Latitude 10, the ST and the ST2. I’m guessing that the current version is the ST2. Is that correct?

    I was interested in the TPM and bitlocker and the problem this bios update solves occurred to me tonight. The Dell forums are useless on this point. I found several unanswered questions on the forum asking how do you put in the key if you don’t have a keyboard. Seems like an issue that should have been fixed awhile back.

    If I do get one, I’m sure I’ll be back for help

    Thanks in advance for the help.

    • August 12, 2013 at 3:49 pm

      Mike,

      I believe that the card reader/finger print is a usb add-on. So the link you provided is the standard Lat 10, and yes the ST2 is the Lat10. I would see if you can find one on the secondary market like eBay. There are a lot of people dumping their machines. You should be able to get a great deal on whatever machine you want.

      Yeah, my work requires TPM/BitLocker, so when I found the latest BIOS update adds the on-screen keyboard I was happy. (finally!!!). The lack of a standard keyboard like the XPS 10 is a big flaw in my opinion. This is the one thing that has prevented me from using for my work machine. I have gone with the Samsung ATIV Smart PC. The snap-in keyboard is a winner for me.

      Let me know what you go with. I would be happy to help in any way that I can.

      Cameron

  2. Mike Guidry
    August 13, 2013 at 5:03 am

    Thanks for the quick reply. After reading your comments, you have me on the fence again. Looked on Ebay, but the prices weren’t all that enticing, except for some refurbs with a one year Dell warranty for $450. May go that way and can probably sell it in 6 months without a huge loss.

  3. Yves
    March 7, 2014 at 7:08 am

    Hi there,
    I know this dates back to last year, but we are trying to get the on-screen keyboard to show up and can’t. We have A08 BIOS with A07 chipset. Is there a specific setting that has to be turned on to get that keybaord to show?

    Thanks

    Yves

    • April 10, 2014 at 5:33 pm

      It was simply enabling BitLocker with a pin. It is on a domain.

      • Krystina
        May 21, 2014 at 2:13 am

        Can you please help me I can’t get a usb connected keyboard to allow me to enter the key and only number keyboard shows up. My tablet is having issues it won’t start up and I need to enter bit locker code to refresh it. I have the bit locker code I just can’t enter it please tell me what you meant by enabling bitlocker with a pin

      • September 23, 2014 at 5:39 pm

        yeah, do you have the latest bios installed? Our bitlocker policy is for a pin. We have a mixture of alpha and numbers. The tablet when booting gets to the bitlocker screen and the onscreen keyboard pops up.

  4. vt2012
    July 11, 2014 at 12:46 pm

    Apparently Surface Pro 3 has this too, though the Type Cover has to be disconnected at power-on in order for the On Screen Keyboard – Button to appear in the upper right, at the Bitlocker Prompt.

    • September 23, 2014 at 5:35 pm

      Thanks VT2012. I just got the SP3 and yes, I see it. Fantastic move Microsoft!!! I had all but lost hope that this would come.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

