Home > 2010, SQL Server, T-SQL Tuesday > T-SQL Tuesday #13 – I don’t know what I want, but I want it

T-SQL Tuesday #13 – I don’t know what I want, but I want it

TSQL2sDay150x150

This month’s TSQL2sDAY is being hosted by Steve Jones (Twitter | Blog). The topic this month is around “what the business says is not what the business wants”.

Have you heard this one before?  I am not sure what I want, but I want it.

I am currently involved in a project where we are upgrading/moving from an old in-house created application to a new in-house created application.  This involves the business analysts working with the other department getting all of their business needs.  Don’t get me wrong you need the input from the people that are going to be using the system or it will fail.  However, if you don’t know what you want, how can we deliver that to you.

I think what I am trying to convey is we do need to interact with the business users to see what they really need and give them those things that will help them do their job, which helps the company, which helps us stay employed.

I am thankful for a strong business analyst group in our department.  They know more about the business process then the actual users do.  They are able to anticipate with the user needs and work with development to give them those features.

Categories: 2010, SQL Server, T-SQL Tuesday
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

