Home > 2012, HP Slate 500, Windows 8 Release Preview > Installing Windows 8 Release Preview on HP Slate 500 Part 2

Installing Windows 8 Release Preview on HP Slate 500 Part 2

In my previous post I installed Windows 8 Release Preview on the HP Slate 500.  Now I am going to continue where I left on and install some additional drivers.

The first thing is to check to see what is missing in the device manager. This is the same as in previous version of Windows 8.

1. Click on the Desktop Metro Tile to get to the Desktop
2. Right Click on the Desktop and select Personalize
3. Click on the Change desktop icons link in the upper left.
4. Put a check for Computer and Control Panel.
5. Click Apply and Ok
6. Double click Control Panel
7. Click on the the Hardware and Sound link.
8. Under Devices and Printers click on Device Manager.

This is a list of the drivers that Windows is unable to find.

HP500 - Device Manager (Missing) W8R

Then configure the Wireless and connect to your home network.  The Windows 8 installation installs the Wireless card drivers.  Then run Windows Update and get the latest Windows 8 Release Preview and any other hardware.  As of 06/03/2012.

SOFTWARE UPDATES

Windows Updates

HARDWARE UPDATES

Windows Updates (HW)

Unfortunately, Windows Updates does not resolve any of the missing devices in the Device Manager.

1. Create a folder on the C Drive name SWSETUP and then go out to HP’s web site (here) and download the following drivers.  Install using W7 compatibility Mode (see note).

SP50501 – Broadcom Crystal HD Video Decoder Driver (2010-10-22) [DM – Multimedia Controller]
SP50503 – Intel Chipset Installation Utility and Driver (2010-10-22)
SP50504 – Intel High-Definition (HD) Graphics Driver (2010-10-22)
SP51650 – HP Quick Launch Software (2011-01-24) [SEE INSTALLATION NOTE BELOW]
SP50480 – IDT High-Def (HD) Audio (2010-10-22)

[DM] = These are the specific drivers that will resolve the missing drivers above.

NOTE: When I say to install in W7 Compatibility mode = To install these drivers you will need to right click on the file, select Properties, click on the Compatibility tab. Put a check in the Compatibility Mode (Select Windows 7), Click ok and then double click on the file to install.

SP51650 – HP Quick Launch Software (To get the Auto rotate to work)
Before installing the driver you need to enable/install .NET Framework 3.5.  Open the Control Panel and select Uninstall a Program and then select “Turn Windows features on or off”. Put a check in “.NET Framework 3.5” and click OK. This will also connect to Windows Update to install software.  Then execute SP51650 (in W7 Compatibility mode). Once completed browse out to “C:\Program Files\Hewlett Packard\HP Quick Launch”, and execute HPWMISVC.EXE (in W7 Compatibility mode).  May require a restart for the Auto-rotate to start working.

UPDATE:
To fix the Metro Tile choppy video you need to install the latest Intel GMA 500 Video Driver v8.14.10.2030.  This was kindly brought to my attention by Vala on one of the comments on this post.  Thanks Vala…

You can download this driver.

http://downloadcenter.intel.com/Detail_Desc.aspx?agr=Y&ProdId=3180&DwnldID=19155&ProductFamily=Graphics&ProductLine=Laptop+graphics+drivers&ProductProduct=Intel%c2%ae+Graphics+Media+Accelerator+500&DownloadType=Drivers&lang=eng

The other missing device in the Device Manager the “Duosence”, I am going to skip for now.  This will require a separate blog post.

  1. Bonnie Harris
    June 3, 2012 at 9:24 pm

    HI Cameron

    On my slate 500 I get this flickering of the screen whenever I scroll the metros apps on the start screen. It is only happening in the Start Screen. This did not happen in the CP version butit is happening in this RP version. Any suggestions?

    • June 4, 2012 at 7:11 am

      Bonnie,
      Mine flickers as well on the Metro Start Page. Haven’t come up with a solution (not sure if there is one). I can’t find any updated drivers for the GMA500. Might be stuck with it.

      Cameron

    • Vala
      June 4, 2012 at 9:34 am

      Gooooooooooooooooood NEWS, I found a way to stop the flickering. Go download the latest driver for Intel GMA 500 from Intel’s website (Version 5.0.0.2030) and install it. You’re DONE with that annoying flickering. I searched for over 6 hours. WOW.

  2. Vala
    June 4, 2012 at 3:17 am

    It flickers on mine too

  3. Vala
    June 4, 2012 at 3:51 am

    AND for SP50504 – Intel High-Definition (HD) Graphics Driver (2010-10-22) it says operating system not supported. You have to install it through compatibility mode.

    • June 4, 2012 at 7:15 am

      Vala,

      I install all the drivers in W7 compatibility mode. Habit.

      Cameron

  4. Vala
    June 4, 2012 at 4:17 am

    The screen is widened when the resolution is set to 1024*768 to run metro apps. Any solution to revert it back to normal with this resolution?

    • June 4, 2012 at 7:19 am

      Vala,

      You can try changing the screen resolution to make the text 125% to offset the distortion at 1024×768. Unfortunately, I don’t know of another workaround to make it look normal. It will still look a little off. I hate the fact that Microsoft is pushing that resolution.

      Right click on Desktop
      Select Screen Resolution
      Select Make text and other items larger or smaller
      Select Medium 125%
      Click Apply. You will need to log out and then back in for the change.

      Cameron

  5. Vala
    June 4, 2012 at 5:00 am

    Uninstalling display adapter driver (Intel ..500) reduces the flickering a bit but removes 1024*768 resolution. Cameron help is needed.

    • June 4, 2012 at 7:12 am

      Vala,

      Yeah, I don’t have a workaround at the moment. Not sure if there is one.

      Cameron

  6. pun9455
    June 4, 2012 at 7:35 am

    Has anyone found out found a way to get the Ntrig or Duosense installed correctly? I’ve tried both the drivers for win7 in compat mode (which won’t install) and the duo sense that Ntrig has on their site. The Ntrig drivers install 4 of the 6 multi-touch zones but still has issues. Anyone figure this out yet?

    • June 4, 2012 at 9:19 am

      Pun9455,
      Yeah, I am in the same boat. They give limited touch. The pen/touch calibration is missing with these drivers. Really make it difficult to use. I have a few more tests to run, but I think this will be a short run with W8 on the HP Slate. I will probably put W7 back on it so it at least is functional. Very sad. I highly recommend if you haven’t to go out to N-trig’s site and shoot an email to their support about wnating updated W8 drivers. Their email address is: esupport@n-trig.com

      Cameron

    • Bonnie Harris
      June 4, 2012 at 10:16 am

      If installs don’t work in compatibility mode pull up your properties and click install as administrator

  7. Vala
    June 4, 2012 at 7:43 am

    My Slate is running crazy. It acts as if somebody is touching the screen. upper left. HELP

    • pun9455
      June 4, 2012 at 7:45 am

      Go into control panel and calibrate the Pen first, then the touch. And be careful to only touch once. If you accidentally touch the wrong area use right click to go back to previous calibration spot. This fixed that for me Vala

    • Vala
      June 4, 2012 at 8:00 am

      It’s running normally right now. I have no opinion why this happened. Cameron you’re really a good man. KEEP THIS IN MIND.

  8. Vala
    June 4, 2012 at 8:02 am

    There was a registry tweak in Developer Preview to enable “Snap” but it’s not working in the RP.

  9. Vala
    June 4, 2012 at 8:03 am

    The screen flickering is driving me crazy.

    • pun9455
      June 4, 2012 at 8:05 am

      Try uninstalling driver and reinstalling in win7 compat mode.

  10. Vala
    June 4, 2012 at 9:33 am

    Cameron Gooooooooooooooooood NEWS, I found a way to stop the flickering. Go download the latest driver for Intel GMA 500 from Intel’s website (Version 5.0.0.2030) and install it. You’re DONE with that annoying flickering. I searched for over 6 hours. WOW.

  11. pun9455
    June 4, 2012 at 10:05 am

    this fixes flickering when scrolling on metro screen? I hope

  12. pun9455
    June 4, 2012 at 10:23 am

    AMAZING! Now if N-Trig steps up this unit will be 100%. As of right now it’s 99% working. LOVE!

    • Bonnie Harris
      June 4, 2012 at 10:42 am

      I agree – I love the interactive nature of the Metro Apps now that they are not flickering. I did send my email to N-trig asking for updates to HP Slate 500 drivers. Although Device Manger says 2 on my elements of the N-trig driver are not supported and did not update everything seems to be working fine – what touch screen capabilities should I have that I don’t, I wonder?

      • pun9455
        June 4, 2012 at 10:47 am

        We are in the same boat. I was not happy with the Metro, at first, now that I can use it and see what’s going on I do like. Although I don’t like how everything is BING related. Can’t wait for metro store to have real apps. As for what do we not have? not sure. My device lists 2 as not supported as well but to whether this is a fault positive, I have no way of knowing. I mean everything seems to be working like this was store purchased win 8 tablet. Device manager states otherwise but I can’t see how it impacts me at all, currently.

    • June 4, 2012 at 10:46 am

      Agreed!!!

  13. Bonnie Harris
    June 4, 2012 at 10:24 am

    Thank you Cameron so much for running this blog

    • June 4, 2012 at 10:47 am

      Thank you Bonnie! I am glad you found something that helped.

  14. pun9455
    June 4, 2012 at 10:26 am

    Question, has anyone tried using the drivers N-Trig has listed on their site for win7 and just installing via compat mode?

    • Vala
      June 4, 2012 at 10:30 am

      BUT as long as you can’t run metro apps in 1024*600 resolution it’s not 100%. if you set the resolution to 1024*768 the screen becomes widened and ugly. any solution for this?

      • pun9455
        June 4, 2012 at 10:34 am

        really the slight jump from 600 to 768 is so slight I have no issues with it. Doesn’t look smashed or ugly to me, very very usable. I’m not focused on the duosense. I’ve tried the win7 driver on hp site in compat mode and no luck. I’ve used Ntrig win8 driver and it’s mostly functional. My last current idea is to try Ntrigs win7 driver and install in compat mode but haven’t tried that yet. Hoping one of y’all have and can direct me whether it helps any.

    • Bonnie Harris
      June 4, 2012 at 10:44 am

      I have not tried and am afraid to mess with anything right now since everything seems great so far!

      • pun9455
        June 4, 2012 at 10:47 am

        agreed.

    • June 4, 2012 at 10:57 am

      Pun9455,
      I will try running it in W7 comp mode tonight. I think I recall trying in CP and it didn’t help.

      I usually will wipe and reinstall several times so I can properly document things. I will edit and add Vala’s nice find on the Video Driver/Flickering as well to the blog tonight.

  15. Vala
    June 4, 2012 at 11:03 am

    Guys when my Slate boots from hibernation (from Windows 8) it restarts by itself. You have this problem too? Any solutions?

  16. Vala
    June 4, 2012 at 11:20 am

    Pun9455,
    these are my slate’s screenshots. http://i.imgur.com/BKKZd.jpg and http://i.imgur.com/tnXZP.png
    Your slate is like this too? (1024*768)

    • pun9455
      June 4, 2012 at 11:31 am

      your metro looks clean. does your desktop cut off like the screenshot though? mine does not. I’ll post some shots shortly, working on last bit of linux hw. I’ve got a copy of Ubuntu that runs on the slate live as well i’ll post a link too.

    • Bonnie
      June 4, 2012 at 1:26 pm

      oh I like the black background – your desktop looks like it is cut off on the right – mine is not

      • Bonnie
        June 4, 2012 at 1:28 pm

        looking at the other pics ours look the same – where do I go in and change colors? I forget.

  17. Domo Arigato
    June 4, 2012 at 11:24 am

    Have you guys tried ntrigs drivers on ntrigs site? ntrig site –> support –> downloads & drivers –> win 8 32 bit –> hp –> slate 500

    • pun9455
      June 4, 2012 at 11:32 am

      yes Domo, currently those are most operable drivers.

    • Vala
      June 4, 2012 at 11:32 am

      Wow it’s live just now. It wasn’t till an hour ago.

      • June 4, 2012 at 11:48 am

        Are you guys talking about the W8 N-trig drivers. I show the March 28, 2012. They add some touch point support but lack the calibration ability.

  18. pun9455
    June 4, 2012 at 12:03 pm

    Cameron :
    Are you guys talking about the W8 N-trig drivers. I show the March 28, 2012. They add some touch point support but lack the calibration ability.

    Yeah I havent checked for any updated version but I downloaded the NTrig drivers for win8 like 2 days ago. Me and Cam are on same page and vala your right there too and Bonnie as well. We are all kinda at the same point I think.

  19. Vala
    June 4, 2012 at 12:08 pm

    Please make it clear. I have N-trig Touchscreen Driver sp50505 which is for Windows 7 and it’s 25MB but the Windows 8 one is just 1.3MB why? which one should I install? What is their difference?

    • pun9455
      June 4, 2012 at 12:15 pm

      here is the Ntrig driver I use. http://www.n-trig.com/files/Win8_Driver_x32.zip

    • June 4, 2012 at 12:58 pm

      Vala,

      Going off memory, but I don’t think the N-trig drivers (SP50505) will install at all in Windows 8 CP or RP. They did work in W8DP, but with a very strong hack, which I believe is outlined in my W8 DP blog post. That same hack does not work in CP or RP. I think that part of the reason for the different file size is the DuoSense bundle for W7. Doesn’t look like they added them for the W8 driver.

      Cameron

      • Vala
        June 4, 2012 at 5:58 pm

        ut if you head over to N-Trig’s website and select HP Slate 500 it gives you 3 drivers (Windows 7):
        1) N-act_setup_1.26.0 15.3 MB
        2) DuoSense_MT_RC_Slate500_32bit_3.46.026 25.2 MB
        3) WinTab_Setup_x32 1.55 MB
        Which of these 3 is the one that N-trig released for Windows 8? Also Do I have to install the other 2 on Windows 8 through compat mode?

      • June 5, 2012 at 4:26 am

        Vala,

        None of these drivers will install on Windows 8. You will get a fatal error/Operating system not supported message.

        Cameron

    • Bonnie
      June 4, 2012 at 1:33 pm

      I am NOT running with sp50505

  20. pun9455
    June 4, 2012 at 12:28 pm

    From your screen shots, your slate looks like mine. Do some experimenting with text size and magnification in the control panel under Display , change folder options to display extra large icons, set IE to display at 100% (maybe 125%) all these little variations I noticed make some differences so play with them till you find what you like best. But as for it never being designed to run win8 it does quite well.

    If your interested in running linux on it also check out this thread. Fair amount to read but it all works and your want to download this iso

    iso – aziz65.home.comcast.net/~aziz65/ubuntu-10.04.1-desktop-i386-slate.iso
    Usb creator – http://unetbootin.sourceforge.net/
    Thread – http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1603301&page=3

    Instructions for all the drivers are in the thread.

    • Vala
      June 4, 2012 at 6:01 pm

      You’re talking about my second screenshot post, correct?

    • Bonnie
      June 5, 2012 at 9:57 pm

      What is the advantage to running Linux?

  21. Vala
    June 5, 2012 at 5:38 am

    Thanks Cameron for clarification.
    When my Slate boots from hibernation (from Windows 8) it restarts by itself. You have this problem too? Any solutions?

    • June 5, 2012 at 6:37 am

      Vala,
      I have not experienced that, but I am not using hibernation. Hopefully someone in the thread and can answer.

      Cameron

    • Bonnie
      June 5, 2012 at 10:32 am

      I used the hibernation yesterday and yes it was like it booted twice – I have not yet explored how to avoid that.

  22. mark
    June 5, 2012 at 7:17 pm

    I installed Windows 8 on my Slate 500. The wireless driver did not install and I do not have access to the networks. ANy suggestions on how to install the driver?

  23. mark
    June 5, 2012 at 8:13 pm

    Cameron
    I did load the SP53663 and no luck. I noticed in the Device Manager my network adapter is not showing up. It appears I have to reinstall the hardware. What is the best way to do that?
    mark

    • Bonnie
      June 5, 2012 at 10:00 pm

      Hi Mark – did you install Windows 8 as an upgrade or a new install? I know I did it as a new install and so did Cameron and that was never an issue. You might consider reloading windows 8 as a new install – that might also eliminate problems down the road too.

    • June 6, 2012 at 4:40 am

      Mark,

      You should see the device in the device manager after an install of W8. I would try to do a fresh install.

      Cameron

  24. mark
    June 6, 2012 at 9:49 am

    Guys

    Tried a fresh install again and problem persists. Both installs were full istall as mentioned in Part 1 of this series. I tested the WiFi before the Windows 8 install so I know the hardware is good. In Device Manager I have a Network adapter with the device listed as “Microsoft Kernel Debug Network Adapter”. It shows the device is working properly. The driver version is 6.2.84000.0. Am I looking at the right device? It almost appears that the radio is turned off.

    mark

    • Bonnie
      June 6, 2012 at 10:08 am

      Yes I too have that driver in addition to the Bluetooth and Broadcom 4313GN 802.11b/g/n 1X1 Wi-Fi adapter, which is what you are trying to get online for so as to install. That Debug Network Adapter should detect your Wifi Signal, it did for me. Since it now shows up on your Device Manager, is its internet signal icon showing in your tray on the bottom right of your screen? Probably with a yellow ! sign for you to click on and choose a Wifi signal to configure. And it gives you no option to turn the radio on?

      • mark
        June 7, 2012 at 4:41 am

        The icon tray has a red X over the network connectiion icon. I run the troubleshooter and it determines “Windows did not detect a properly installed network adapter.” In Control Panal/Network and Sharing I click “change adaper setting” and the folder pops up with “this folder is empty.”

      • June 7, 2012 at 5:20 am

        Mark,
        Very strange… Do you see it in the Device Manager? If so, try to uninstall it in the device manager by right clicking on it and select uninstall. Then restart. Go back into the Device manager to see if it now shows up as an unknown device. If so, try to reinstall the network driver.

        Cameron

  25. Bonnie
    June 6, 2012 at 10:10 am

    Hi guys –
    I am having choppy video and audio playback on Netflix in the Windows 8 which I am not having in my Windows 7. My Silverlight, my Flash Player, and my Java are all up to date – any fixes you know of??

  26. Bonnie Harris
    June 6, 2012 at 11:10 am

    Hi Cameron – I need to ask your opinion – I have a 64 gig HP Slate 500 on which I have partitioned the harddrive and am running windows 7 on one and windows 8 on the other. I kept windows 7 on this machine because I have my Microsoft Office software, McAfee security, etc.on that OS. Now I am wondering if I should do a new install of windows 8 release version and do away with the partition and do away with windows 7. I am wondering if my choppy and slow internet feed on videos and such is because I have too little space left on my hard disk partition for windows 8. I have 9.78 GB free space, or 43%.

    • June 6, 2012 at 11:49 am

      Bonnie,

      Good question. The tough part is with your licensing. You have so many installs of Office before you have to go through the whole calling microsoft licensing to get it activated. Kind of a hassle. I would leave it the way you have it until the final release of W8 and then make that decision. I don’t think the drive space has anything to do with your choppy video. I think it is probably a mixtures of W8 and the video drivers. Another alternative could be taking an image of your Windows 7, so you can go back to it if you want. This is what I have done, I am using the native Windows Image Backup tool.

      Cameron

      • Bonnie
        June 6, 2012 at 12:36 pm

        Good advice on waiting till final release of Windows 8 to wait on that – but how do I resolve choppy video playback problems on Netflix? DO you have that problem?

      • June 6, 2012 at 4:56 pm

        Bonnie,
        Not sure how to resolve the choppy video. I haven’t played around with the video much.

        Cameron

  27. mark
    June 7, 2012 at 1:53 pm

    Cameron :
    Mark,
    Very strange… Do you see it in the Device Manager? If so, try to uninstall it in the device manager by right clicking on it and select uninstall. Then restart. Go back into the Device manager to see if it now shows up as an unknown device. If so, try to reinstall the network driver.
    Cameron

    Cameron,
    In Device Manager I have “Network apdaters” as a device with the “Microsoft Kernal Debug Network Adapter” driver listed. I didabled, enabled, uninstalled, and reinstalled and the network does not show up. When I uninstalled the driver and did a restart I did NOT get an unknown device to show up and the Scan for Hardware Changes did not find it.

    I have these problem devices shown: Bluetooth (Generic Bluetooth Adapter); Other devices (Generica SDIO Device & N-Trig DuoSense Bulk); and Security devices (Trusted Platform Module 1.2).

    mark

  28. Bonnie
    June 7, 2012 at 2:32 pm

    Mark – are you sure you actually have a wifi device installed on your slate? maybe it has died?

    • mark
      June 7, 2012 at 2:38 pm

      Bonnie – I have WiFI and tested it immediatley before the update to Win 8. I am thinking it is dead or turned off. I can’t find a radio on/off control anywhere in BIOS or OS, but I suspect the radio has gotten turned off.

  29. jim Leedham
    June 11, 2012 at 1:58 pm

    Cameron,

    Great Blog – thanks!
    I have used most of the suggestions here, and my Slate 500 works well with Windows 8, especially witht he GMA fix. Going from v8.14.10.2025 to v8.14.10.2030 made a big difference in Video performance.
    I have been using the N-Trig Windows 8 beta drivers, and they install easily plus work well for what I use my Slate for. Supports gestures in Metro apps at least for sizing, and in IE10.

    Jim

    • June 11, 2012 at 2:34 pm

      Thanks Jim for your kind words. I am glad that you were able to configure your Slate with the help of this blog. Yes, I can also confirm the W8 N-trig drivers install but the lack of being able to properly configure the touch and stylus are a huge hole for me. I did happen to get confirmation from N-trig support that they will be releasing updated drivers this month with the calibration tool. I am really looking forward to that. In my opinion this missing tool makes the Slate very difficult to use. I am a heavy stylus/pen user.

      Thanks Jim
      Cameron

  30. Tyson1978
    June 11, 2012 at 4:52 pm

    Can you help? My MIC is not working, and I have no sound on online video such as YouTube.

  31. mark
    June 13, 2012 at 5:47 pm

    Guys, I found my WiFi solution. The problem is the Slate 2 needs the HP driver (SP56230) installed: C:\SWSetup\SP56230\Win7\Install_CD and run the setup.exe program. Thanks to Ozzy Osborne at the link below. Thanks Bonnie and Cameron for helping.

    http://social.technet.microsoft.com/Forums/en/w8itprohardware/thread/0d577441-5a66-4298-a7bc-afc3f6968f4f

    • June 14, 2012 at 4:43 am

      Mark, I am glad that you were able to find a solution.

  32. Keith
    June 20, 2012 at 4:22 pm

    Hi everyone. Thanks to the blog, I’m up and running on my Slate 500 with W8. Now to figure out if I like it or not.

    • June 20, 2012 at 5:00 pm

      Keith,

      N-trig should be coming out with updated N-trig drivers with the calibration control panel which will help a lot with the touch and stylus hopefully this month. For me until these updated drivers come out it is really hard to use. I am glad you were able to get W8 on your tablet. It is really a great start by Microsoft…

      Cameron

      • Keith
        June 21, 2012 at 12:54 am

        Strange, when I read your post, I was working well with touch. Not so well with the stylus, but it did work with a delay. Then suddenly after rebooting, I have no access to touch and DM shows a conflict with N-Trig now. I’ve sent an e-mail to N-trig.

      • Bonnie
        June 21, 2012 at 8:26 am

        I had sent an image from my Device Manager showing a list of unsupported N-trig drivers on June 8th and just got this response back today:Hello Bonnie,

        We are working to fix this issue and we’ll post new drivers for Win8 on our website soon.

        Thanks

        N-trig Support Team

        PS – is anyone else having issues with your Slate rebooting automatically a 2nd time when you first turn it on?

      • June 21, 2012 at 8:40 pm

        Yes, I am looking forward to hopefully actual working N-trig drivers.

        Yes, I am occassionally getting the restarting twice. For me it is not consistent, but seems to happen when the computer has been put to sleep. It won’t wake from sleep and it will act as if it is restarting for the first time and will actually restart twice.

        Strange…

  33. pyro3113
    July 20, 2012 at 12:42 am

    Great post!! I just picked up a second hand slate 500 in great condition and this post was instrumental in getting Win 8 RP to work well! Thank you!

    • July 20, 2012 at 6:04 am

      Glad it was helpful. The Hp Slate is a very nice device and W8 makes it even better.

  34. pyro3113
    July 22, 2012 at 4:50 pm

    One thing I noticed was that after installing the HP Slate Webcam software the front-facing camera did not work. I had to install the HP Webcam drivers to get this to work properly.

    I’m also having trouble with the physical buttons on the device. Ctrl+Alt+Del button seems to work ok but the keyboard button doesn’t work at all and the home button just minimizes windows on the desktop.

  35. andrew
    July 30, 2012 at 1:38 am

    Hi all, i got some of the hard keys to work by installing HP Quick Launch and running each .exe (in program files\HP….) with win7 and admin compatibility. Each restart i need to launch HPSCRCTL.exe to enable rotate/hard keys – keyboard is works only 1-3 times and then stops working.

    Unit works at 2.1ghz (fsb 150mhz). Only issue is the n-trig touch drivers part of my screen does not work! Office 2013 is great, Onenote MX is an improvement! Can’t wait to see all office metro apps! Emailed Ntrig and i have no faith oh well lets hope RTM will force them to develop drivers.

  36. c
    September 8, 2012 at 10:04 am

    does hibernation work for U?
    seems i only have sleep mode on nmine
    how to get hibernation work?

  37. c
    September 8, 2012 at 10:07 am

    I seem to have same problem

    No hibernation option… where is it how to activate??

    Cameron :
    Yes, I am looking forward to hopefully actual working N-trig drivers.
    Yes, I am occassionally getting the restarting twice. For me it is not consistent, but seems to happen when the computer has been put to sleep. It won’t wake from sleep and it will act as if it is restarting for the first time and will actually restart twice.
    Strange…

  38. JB
    September 15, 2012 at 9:26 am

    Cameron :
    Mark,
    Very strange… Do you see it in the Device Manager? If so, try to uninstall it in the device manager by right clicking on it and select uninstall. Then restart. Go back into the Device manager to see if it now shows up as an unknown device. If so, try to reinstall the network driver.
    Cameron

    Hi Cameron,

    Many thanks for this useful blog!

    I have exactly the same problem as Mark. I have tried uninstalling the debug driver under Network adapters, and rebooting. At that point, no network hardware is in the hardware list. If I then run the Broadcom Setup as Admin in Compatibility mode nothing happens – the setup doesn’t appear to run. Looking in Task Manager I can see that it’s running for a while, but then disappears from the list of running tasks.

    Any ideas that may help?

    Julian

  39. September 20, 2012 at 5:52 pm

    I just got a HP Slate 500 with a cracked glass for 62$ !!!!! i’m using it to write this, USB keyboard! I installed Windows RTM Enterprise, They still have not fixed many of the issues. I have download and installed all of the drivers. I still had the flickering issue up till yesterday when I ran across this post. Thanks!! Got that taken care of!! I still cant seem to get the auto rotation issue fixed. Any idea’s?? I’ve tried multiple times!

    • September 23, 2012 at 8:09 am

      Relenger,
      Wow $62 bucks! Nice…

      Trying to recall if I had to do anything different with RTM. Most recent test has been upgrading from W7 and I can recall what I did with RTM to get rotate working. So you followed the Release Preview steps with the button driver? On my phone so I don’t remember the driver number. I will follow up the next time I’m at my desk.

      Cameron

  40. September 23, 2012 at 1:06 pm

    I did follow your instructions. I did try it 5 or 6 times.. No luck.. Tried re-booting and everything. No luck. I’m going to try a few things right now. if I reply then I got it working..

  41. September 23, 2012 at 1:53 pm

    so this time I launched it and it did work. I rebooted and I have to re-launch the program to get it to work again. I’m going to see if I can get it to auto-launch at boot.

  42. September 23, 2012 at 3:00 pm

    Anyone know if the glass is part of the LCD screen? My LCD works perfect. but the glass is broken and I need to get it fixed which I would like to do my-self.. Any ideas? No touch at all sucks!

    • September 24, 2012 at 5:16 am

      I believe the glass is all part of the digitizer. Unless you buy another tablet to swap out screen. I would call HP support and see about how much. You may still be good with the amount you paid for it to send it in and get fixed.

  43. October 1, 2012 at 6:09 am

    Thanks a lot for this guide. I have a Slate 2 and just need to come up with an extra-day to go through this whole upgrading process. I will use all your comments to save some valuable time so thanks in advance for posting!

    • October 1, 2012 at 4:59 pm

      Alfredoraul,
      Glad you like and found useful.

      Be sure to download the Slate 2 drivers. I used or referenced Slate 500 drivers.

      Good luck and let me know how you like W8 on the Slate.

      Cameron

  44. saloei
    October 9, 2012 at 8:36 am

    I’ve been trying for 2 days to install the Windows 8 iso file from Microsoft you pointed to in your post with no luck. I get “windows could not set the offline locale information 0x8f0000001” error with no on-line search solutions. I’m doing a partition delete and create – as well as letting the windows installation create its own partitions fresh and clean with no installation success. Did you have this problem? I even used DISKPART command to CLEAN, PARTITION and make the partition ACTIVE. I copied Windows 8 installation files to the USB. Everything works good until I get the error after file copying installation. I’m stumped! How did you overcome the error for a complete install? Any suggestions?

    • October 11, 2012 at 5:25 am

      Saloei,

      Were you successful creating a bootable USB stick with the Windows 8 ISO. When you say that you copied the Windows 8 installation files what do you mean? I would recommend that you use the Microsoft tool that takes the ISO and creates a bootable usb stick.

      Install Windows 8 using USB Stick

      You don’t want to wipe out the other partitions, the HP_TOOLS is required for BIOS. I would recommend that you leave the partitions in tact and install into the PRIMARY partition.

      Cameron

  45. Joel
    October 30, 2012 at 4:55 am

    Wow, thank you for posting this. We had tried multiple things before but your instructions worked on the first attempt. I am now enjoying Windows 8 on my slate.

    • October 30, 2012 at 5:25 am

      Joel,

      I am glad you found the post useful.

      Cameron

  46. dave
    October 30, 2012 at 12:33 pm

    Thanks for the help with my slate 500 everything is working great now (with the exception of the home and keyboard bezel buttons) its now a great tablet with win 8. It was more a mini pc that really needed to be used with a mouse or the stylus before. I have been running a few days now. I would love to be able to make those buttons work (for different things like auto rotate) but have no idea how or if this is possible

    • October 30, 2012 at 3:13 pm

      Dave,

      I am trying to recall from memory. There might have been a Windows Update that enabled this. I can’t recall. I will take a look at my notes and get back to you.

      Cameron

      • davecnelson
        October 30, 2012 at 3:55 pm

        thank you dave nelson

  47. dave
    October 30, 2012 at 12:42 pm

    I forgot to mention I used windows 8 pro upgrade and I needed to follow your instructions for drivers to complete the job windows update didn’t help with missing drivers. Thanks again dave

    • October 30, 2012 at 3:14 pm

      Dave

      Thanks for you kind words. I am glad that you found my blog useful.
      Best wishes

      Cameron

  48. Prem
    October 31, 2012 at 5:11 pm

    Have anyone tried the recently released Windows 8 pro on hp slate 500? Beta version of Duosense driver does not seem to be working with the Windows 8 pro.

    • November 1, 2012 at 4:30 am

      Prem

      Yeah, N-trig/DuoSense have been way lacking since the Release Preview and it doesn’t look like there are going to be any updates from them to support W8. A real shame.

      Cameron

      • Prem
        November 1, 2012 at 6:20 am

        Hello Cameron,
        Thank you very much for your response. It is really a shame. I am very frustrated with HP’s and N-trig technical support and their products. I also have a 5 year convertible Fujutsi lifebook tablet with Wacom on it. I tested the Windows 8 prof on this machine. Surprisingly, almost everything works flawlessly even without installing any new drivers. But my less than a year old HP Slate 500 is hopeless.

        Prem

  49. Bonnie
    November 1, 2012 at 9:07 am

    I installed Windows 8 Pro on my HP Slate 500 but the only problem I am having (and I haven’t worked yet in resolving it) is the screen rotation. What problems with the Duosense am I NOT noticing that I should be having? (does that make sense hahaha?!)

    • Prem
      November 1, 2012 at 10:33 am

      I was able able to make the screen rotation exactly following your instruction in your previous post. But the digitizer is giving me hard time with Windows 8 Pro. The pen input is not recognized by the screen at all.

      • Bonnie
        November 1, 2012 at 12:54 pm

        My pen is functioning perfectly with my HP Slate 500 – but I had made sure the Duosense drivers in my Windows 7 were up to date before I upgraded. Have you checked the battery in your pen?

      • Prem
        November 1, 2012 at 5:08 pm

        That sounds great. But, which version of Windows 8 you have? Mine was also functioning perfectly with Windows 8 PR. Story of Windows 8 Pro is quite different. It even does not allow you to upgrade from Windows 7 unless you completely remove the Duosense driver from Windows 7. I am missing something?

      • bonniesbiz@hotmail.com
        November 1, 2012 at 8:29 pm

        I just recently installed windows 8 pro

        Sent from my Verizon Wireless 4GLTE smartphone

      • Prem
        November 2, 2012 at 4:52 pm

        I got the pen working by uninstalling and installing the Duosense drivers, but the Duosense digitizer controller for pen only/touch only,…option is missing. Any workaround?

      • November 3, 2012 at 5:04 pm

        Prem,

        That is the biggest problem with the n-trig drivers and the lack of the control panel to control the input control and N-trig states that they aren’t going to release updated drivers with the control. Makes me so frustrated… My next tablet won’t be a N-trig device.

        Cameron

      • Prem
        November 3, 2012 at 6:27 pm

        Hi Cameron,
        That is very frustrating. Most probably my affair with Windows 8 is going to end very son and I will turn back to Windows 7 again. The main reason of my purchasing hp slate 500 was the inking.

        Thanks,
        Prem

      • Bonnie
        November 1, 2012 at 10:49 pm

        Prem – I upgraded my windows 7 to windows 8 Pro on my slate 500 and I did not remove any drivers – my pen is working great. I just can’t get my screen rotation to work.

      • Prem
        November 2, 2012 at 2:51 am

        Hi Bonnie,
        The following is the instruction posted by Cameron long time ago. I tried this and fixed my screen rotation issue. You could also try this if you have not already.

        “SP51650 – HP Quick Launch Software (To get the Auto rotate to work)
        Before installing the driver you need to enable/install .NET Framework 3.5. Open the Control Panel and select Uninstall a Program and then select “Turn Windows features on or off”. Put a check in “.NET Framework 3.5” and click OK. This will also connect to Windows Update to install software. Then execute SP51650 (in W7 Compatibility mode). Once completed browse out to “C:\Program Files\Hewlett Packard\HP Quick Launch”, and execute HPWMISVC.EXE (in W7 Compatibility mode). May require a restart for the Auto-rotate to start working.” – Cameron

        By the way, which version of Bios and Duo digitizer you had in Windows 7 before you upgraded to Windows 8 Pro? Have you been able to go with Pen only or Touch only mode?

        Good luck with screen rotation.

        Prem

      • November 1, 2012 at 5:46 pm

        Prem,

        Hmm. I lost both touch and pen after upgrading to W8, but after installing the latest N-trig drivers I got the touch and pen back. If you haven’t already, try reinstalling the n-trig drivers. Or you may need to go into the device manager and manually go into each one of the Human Interface Devices and manually update or select update and browse to the n-trig output. Backup before getting into the device manager. You can really hose things up in there. I did that many times trying to manually update the drivers in there for the n-trig.

        Cameron

      • Prem
        November 3, 2012 at 5:40 pm

        Hi Cameron,
        My problem is when I upgrade from 7 to Windows 8 pro, I cannot have pen, but touch is there. I tried installing and uninstalling the beta version of N-trig driver, but no luck so far. However, when I tried with fresh install of Windows 8 pro, both touch and pen there even without N-trig driver (of course there is no Duosense controller for pen only or touch only, even with N-trig driver).

        Regards,
        Prem

    • November 1, 2012 at 5:42 pm

      Bonnie,

      That stinks… I have done the screen rotation fix multiple times and I haven’t had an issue. I would recommend reviewing the instructions and just double checking. If that doesn’t fix it I don’t know what else to try.

      Cameron

      • Prem
        November 1, 2012 at 7:06 pm

        Hi Cameron,
        Thank you for the tips. I will try these on the weekend.

        Regards,
        Prem

  50. Tim
    November 3, 2012 at 10:13 am

    I upgraded to Windows 8 a few days ago. I’ve downloaded the n-trig drivers but I don’t have multi-touch. I only have single-touch working. Any ideas what I should do?

    • November 3, 2012 at 5:02 pm

      Tim,

      Have you tried reinstalling the drivers? The only other thing would to go into the device manager and removed the device and then reinstall the drivers. If you go that route make sure that you perform a full backup so you can get back to the point you are at.
      Good luck.

      Cameron

  51. Will
    November 3, 2012 at 12:40 pm

    Great posts! Have you upgraded to the release version of windows 8 pro? I’ve gotten everything running except the front camera (and the keyboard/home buttons, but I didn’t have much hope for those). The from camera worked with Skype in when I had Win8RP on my Slate 500, but now it only lists the rear cam as an option. Installing the drivers and the HP webcam software will get front cam to work in HP’s camera software, but not in Metro Skype, Desktop Skype, or Metro Camera App. Have you had any luck?

    • November 3, 2012 at 5:07 pm

      Will,

      Thanks. I’m glad that got value from them.

      Yes, I upgraded from W7 to the W8 RTM. To be honest, I don’t recall using the camera. I do recall in earlier W8 releases that the front facing camera had issues and the metro camera. I did not test post W8. I have since gone back to W7 because of the lack of input control (touch/ink control).

      Cameron

  52. Kevin
    November 5, 2012 at 10:32 am

    Wow, Cameron, thank you for this! I struggled for hours and hours trying to resolve many of the issues. Auto rotate is now working. No flickering. All devices other than DuoSense are shown as having the correct drivers in device manager. One thing that’s not working as well as I had hoped is that scrolling through lists of files in Windows Explorer is not as smooth as I hoped it would be. I can live with that however.

    I am using a clean install of Win8 after a format. One thing I should point out to those reading this thread is that I was unable to get the Intel GMA driver from the HP site (to allow 768 resolution) to install in Windows 8 even using compatibility mode. I had to use the one from the Intel site, which installed easily using compatibility mode.

    Thank you again for this great tutorial. I’ll look forward to the upcoming N-trig discussion.

    • Prem
      November 8, 2012 at 1:47 pm

      Hi Cameron,
      After a lot of struggle I made my hp slate 500 workable with Windows 8 pro. The touch screen seems to be very responsive, on a par of ipad. Pen is very sooth on OneNote, MS Word, and Power Point, but worse with Windows Jarnal. Now I am looking for a solution to pen only/touch only control. I was wondering if you found a work around by any chance?

      Regards,
      Prem

      • November 10, 2012 at 11:45 am

        Prem,
        I am going to be blogging shortly with a workaround to the lack of N-trig input control.

        Cameron

      • Prem
        November 10, 2012 at 12:44 pm

        Hi Cameron,
        Great! I will be looking forward to your blog. Many many thanks for this good news.

        Regards,
        Prem

  53. Harry
    November 8, 2012 at 2:28 pm

    Thanks for the updates. I’ve had this device since it first came out and frankly, it was a very expensive brick because of windows 7. Now it’s actually approaching the device I had hoped it would be. Thanks for providing these updates. Pity the friggin manufacturers can’t be bothered to provide a roadmap.

    • November 10, 2012 at 11:44 am

      Harry,
      Agreed! My biggest complaint is the N-trig drivers and the lack of input/touch control.

      I am going to be blogging about a workaround to the touch/palm rejection shortly. Great workaround.

      Cameron

  54. Marco
    November 11, 2012 at 6:25 pm

    Hi Cameron:

    Thanjs to you I have my Slate 500 running W8, as the other guys just 2 functions does not working:

    – Home and keyboard buttons
    – Multitouch, I was download and install a free game (guitar) and just there, in the moment that I have play it, I was see that if I push the touch panel in 2 places, does not work anything.

    I was install the beta N.tring drivers, do you know how we can have multitouch???

    Regards, and thanks for all.

    • November 11, 2012 at 6:54 pm

      Marco,

      You should have “limited touch support with 4 touch points”, so it should work. Check the computer properties to verify that you have it. Did you upgrade to Windows 8 or a fresh install of Windows 8? They keyboard button should work with no other workaround or software install. The Home button seems to work for me. If I have something open and click the home button it takes me back to the desktop. The other hardware button takes me to a CTRL-ALT-DEL screen (Lock | Switch User | Sign Out | Change Password | Task Mgr.).

      Cameron

  55. Marco
    November 12, 2012 at 5:23 am

    Cameron:
    Thanks for your answer:

    – I have make an fresh install of Windows 8
    – The Keyboard and the home button, does not work, but the volume and the other button (CTRL-ALT-DEL) works fine.

    How can I check if I have limited touch support with 4 touch points??? I wasn’t find that option.

    Best Regards and thanks one more time.

    Marco

    • andrew
      November 15, 2012 at 10:41 pm

      Hi, last time i couldn’t get the keyboard and home keys to work. I did find a reg hack to make quick launch buttons works about to reload my slate and play with it over the weekend, i’ll post an update on any success.

      aiming for a fresh win7 install with ntrig drivers followed by an upgrade to win8 and ntrig drivers. hope to find some tweaks to disable os hardware accelerated graphic (fingers crossed!). I brought win8 for this device…

      • Marco
        November 18, 2012 at 9:22 am

        Hi Andrew, I’ll waiting for the reg hack for quick launch buttons. One more report, the front camera od my slate doesn’t work on Win 8, Very frustaded

  56. November 27, 2012 at 1:00 am

    So, for who ever still uses this neat little thing: I made a zip-file of all the drivers and uploaded it here: https://hotfile.com/dl/181177839/c6f5b7c/Slate500_drivers.zip.html

    Also, I found a way to make the home-key (on top of the tablet) in to a Windows-key and got the keyboard-key (on the left side) to pop up the keyboard. It’s all in there together with the drivers.
    You still have to run the Intel Graphics driver setup-file in compatibility-mode though. Other than that, the rest runs fine the way they are. No need to “run as administrator” or compatibility-mode or anything. Apart from the intel graphics drivers setup-file. (Located in Win8 GMA 500)
    Also, that driver has been modified. So a red square will pop up and ask if you are sure you want to install that driver.

    • November 27, 2012 at 10:21 am

      Thanks Andreas. I appreciate you taking the time to post and make the files available.

      Cameron

    • Alfredo
      December 4, 2012 at 8:58 am

      Hi Andreas, thanks for the files.
      I installed them in my slate 500 and it Works very well. The only thing is that the screen sometimes turns crazy with the multi touch, like somebody else touching the screen several times and very quickly. Any sugestion to fix this problem?

      • December 8, 2012 at 9:51 am

        Hi Alfredo! Inside of the folder “ntrig” you will find another folder called “Calibrate utility”. Run the program you find inside of there (NtrigMTMCalib.exe). This will calibrate your touch screen.
        It’s a cheap model made by ntrig really. So the jumping cursor has nothing to do with drivers or Microsoft Windows 8. It’s just poor design by ntrig to save money. To save even more money HP purchased those very screens by ntrig instead of going with Wacom. Oh well.

      • Alfredo
        December 8, 2012 at 11:59 am

        Hi, Andreas,
        I did what you told me. By now it is working just fine. I hope this would fix the problem.
        Thanks for the assistence.

  57. December 8, 2012 at 9:57 am

    Also, regarding installing Windows 8 on the Slate 500, I’ve deleted all Windows 8 programs that came pre-installed. By that I mean all the e-mail, maps, games, and so on, tiles. Right click and de-install. Windows 8 is fantastic for its much improved touch and on screen keyboard. However, the screen has a too low resolution for the tiles. And I don’t want to fiddle about with the resolution just to use the Win8 e-mail program or similar. So the start screen is just a wonderful place for me to sort all my programs, shortcuts and icons. I love it! 🙂
    Using it with the beta version of Firefox (Firefox 18) is just a wonderful dream. It’s just the way it is supposed to work!

  58. Prem
    December 9, 2012 at 6:38 am

    Hi Guys,
    How is your inking experience with Windows 8 on hp slate 500. Mine is not good. I am a heavy user of Pen and use Windows Journal and other inking programs a lot. But with Windows 8 Pro, these programs are almost impossible to use. There are frequent vectorization while drawing or writing and the pen input is not smooth. Now I am thinking to reverting to Windows 7 at some point. Any work around?

    • December 9, 2012 at 7:08 pm

      Prem,

      For me the inking was horrible on Windows 8, not to mention the lack of N-trig driver functionality. I made the decision to go back to W7 on the device. Although, on my Asus B121 and Samsung Series 7 Slate I am running W8 and I love it. Just my two cents.

      Cameron

  59. Rolive
    December 13, 2012 at 8:57 am

    Hi guys,

    Since monday, I decided to upgrade my Slate 2 to Windows 8. I read all the participations in this page and some of them were very useful. Today I came across a post in Windows page that refer a solution to several problems on Slate upgrade to Windows 8 by using Motion W8 drivers:
    http://www.motioncomputing.com/drivers/CL900/AtherosBT_v740140_WLAN_v31285_CL_RN.htm

    Did someone here use/test this drives on Slate?

    Greetings from Lisbon-Portugal

    Rolive

    • December 13, 2012 at 7:46 pm

      Rolive,

      I have not tried these drivers. Please let me how they work.

      Cameron

  60. Rolive
  61. Rolive
    December 14, 2012 at 1:18 am

    Cameron,

    Last night, from Motion Drivers Package, I tried the Atheros Wlan driver. After a quick and soft install and reboot, now Wi-Fi connections are working 100% (previous attempts with Slate drive failed, and network was a pain, no updates, no internet…).
    This weekend, next step is NTrig Drivers. The Slate driver is working but there are some bugs and no ink.

    Rolive

  62. February 5, 2013 at 10:13 am

    Hi Cameron, I installed Win8 on the 500 and when the login screen comes up the touch screen doesn’t work. I have to plug in a mouse and unplug to get the touch going. Is this a common issues? Is there a fix

    Thanks for your time

    • February 5, 2013 at 6:50 pm

      Mike,

      Verify that you installed the updated W8 N-trig Drivers. This should get your touch screen working. Wouldn’t hurt to try and reinstall them if you have already installed them. There is a rumor that N-trig is going to be releasing and update their drivers in the coming weeks. I’m a heavy Stylus user and after a trying W8 on the device I decided to go back to W7 because of the problems I have with palm rejection and the lack of input controls with the N-trig drivers in W8.

      Cameron

  63. February 19, 2013 at 1:40 pm

    Hi Cameron, I have trying the drivers from the N-Trig website. The touchscreen still does not respond at the login screen. I’m not sure why but if I plug in a mouse it works then use the onscreen keyboard to login then once logged in the touch screen will start working? Do I have to enable the N-Trig drivers to run for all users or maybe as a service ?

    thanks for the advice

  64. March 5, 2014 at 10:07 pm

    You may run into an occasional Windows 8 blue screen (Watchdog error) with these unsupported Radeon Xpress
    drivers. Firstly, find out which driver versions you currently have.
    You need to use Windows Vista Password Reset Disk and
    follow these steps to reset password: ‘ Once you type a wrong password, a
    reset password link will appear in Windows Vista below the
    login box.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.