Home > 2012, HP Slate 500, N-trig, Windows 8, Windows 8 Release Preview > Updated Windows 8 N-trig drivers – SOON!

Updated Windows 8 N-trig drivers – SOON!

I just got word from N-trig support that updated Windows 8 N-trig drivers that include the calibration tool/utility will be released this month.

Keep your eye out for them.

N-trig Download Site

http://www.ntrig.com/Content.aspx?Page=Downloads_Drivers

UPDATE (7/1)

I just received email from N-trig support that they hope to have updated W8 beta drivers released in two weeks.

Sigh!!!

UPDATE (8/13)

I just checked this morning and updated drivers are out there dated 8/13.  In the process of downloading and testing.

  1. hans
    June 21, 2012 at 12:44 am

    oh god that is so good to hear uncalibrated touch is so buggy … but the end of the month is coming closer and closer

  2. hans
    June 30, 2012 at 3:41 am

    😥 the month is more or less over but no new drivers are out – I hate support-teams but you don’t earn money with beta driver releases. but let’s hope that maybe next week they do something^^

    • June 30, 2012 at 8:28 am

      Yes, I was a little disappointed that there wasn’t anything released yesterday. I kept checking yesterday to see tif they got released. I have reimaged my Slate in prep for these updated drivers. 🙂

      Cameron

  3. reza
    June 30, 2012 at 8:58 pm

    I’m very sorry for n-trig for this support
    windows 8 is coming soon
    this best chance for test theirs product driver with us but ?????

    • June 30, 2012 at 9:12 pm

      Reza,

      I am really shocked that it is taken this long to get some decent drivers from them. They have had more than 3 months to get something out. Come on N-trig!!!

      Cameron

  4. reza
    June 30, 2012 at 9:59 pm

    I believe that his company should be calibrated SOON
    ha ha
    🙂

  5. July 1, 2012 at 8:11 am

    Update 7/1
    I received email from N-trig support this morning that they hope to release the updated drivers in about 2 weeks.

    I would recommend that everyone still email their support esupport@n-trig.com and put a little pressure on them to get them out.

    Thanks.
    Cameron

  6. hans
    July 7, 2012 at 1:42 am

    One Week and nothing up yet. I mailed their support and they didn’t even answer. Slowly hating Ntrig for their bad support. I also can’t imagine that they don’t have the drivers. They build the touch for nearly all the new windows 8 tablets (maybe also surface) and there the touch seems work quite good. So they just have to release these drivers!
    But let’s wait another week and see if they can keep their 2 week deadline.

    • Charles
      July 19, 2012 at 2:13 am

      Guess they didn’t keep to their deadline, I am hanging on getting these drivers its driving me mental

      • July 19, 2012 at 4:17 am

        Software vendors never do. 🙂 It is always a soft date. I received an email back from their support on Sunday (7/15). It is driving me crazy as well.

        “We are sorry, we are running into a delay in our testing cycle and are now running it.
        The drivers should be published by the end of next week.”

  7. July 20, 2012 at 1:26 pm

    Hi @cameron,
    du you know if there will be a good gma 600 driver for windows 8? Im thinking about seeling my Q550, but if there would be a better driver for a decent performance, it would be a waste to sell it.
    I know its not the right topic here, im also waiting for the new ntrig drivers ^^.

    • July 20, 2012 at 4:37 pm

      Tourniquet,
      That is a good question. I doubt that you will see an update from Fujitsu but maybe from Intel. I would think as it gets closer there should be. I think the excitement for W8 vendors will be and should be putting out drivers. It only benefits them to be compatible.

      I am holding out hope for updated N-trig drivers for the Dell Latitude ST and HP Slate. There also should be update for the Q550 as well.

      There will be a lot of new tablets and slates coming out this fall. Very exciting time for consumers.

  8. Charles
    July 22, 2012 at 6:50 pm

    I can’t help but feel ‘by the end of next week’ was purposefully ambiguous, especially saying it on a Sunday, it comes across as non-committal. I have become jaded by this experience and see n-trig device containing computers as not a positive attribute. The drivers need to be released, as from what I can see online, n trig is developing a negative rapport with many potential customers.

    • July 23, 2012 at 7:50 pm

      Totally agree. This is becoming a bit of a joke.

    • July 23, 2012 at 7:50 pm

      Totally agree. This is becoming a bit of a joke.

  9. Charles
    July 28, 2012 at 2:47 pm

    I don’t know how to rationalise the fact that every timeframe they give is exceeded without notice. It’s as if they do not care, or are useless. If they lack the ability to meet their own imposed deadline then that says a lot for their business ethic, with the alternative being that they were lying and were mildly attempting to pacify us. Doesn’t bode well either way, want to sell my tablet before they stop producing drivers for them prematurely and I lose my resale value. Thanks N-trig!

  10. hans
    August 5, 2012 at 4:53 am

    Yet another week over but no drivers. Anyone some more information about new “release dates”?

    • August 5, 2012 at 12:20 pm

      Hans,

      They are not responding to any of my emails.

      -cm

      • August 6, 2012 at 3:04 pm

        mine either

  11. August 9, 2012 at 7:21 am

    8/9/2012 6:40 am EST
    Dear Joshua,

    They will be uploaded by beginning of next week.

    Thanks
    N-trig Support Team

    • August 9, 2012 at 11:55 am

      Joshua,
      Wow! You got a response back from N-trig. We’ll see if this holds true. They haven’t had a very good track record.

      Let’s see, their last driver update was 3/28/2012, a full month after the Consumer Preview and 6 months after the Developer Preview in September. Now the Release Preview came out in the end of June and now almost 2 months have passed.

      WHAT IN THE WORLD HAVE THEY BEEN DOING?

      I won’t be purchasing a N-trig device for my next tablet/slate…

      🙂
      Cameron

      • August 9, 2012 at 11:09 pm

        8/10/2012
        12:02 am EST

        Hello Joshua

        We plan to post the new driver for Win8 on our website on Monday 8/13.

        Thanks
        N-trig Support Team

        **WE SHALL SEE!!

      • August 10, 2012 at 6:43 am

        I received the same email last night. We’ll see if it happens. 🙂

  12. reza
    August 12, 2012 at 11:51 pm

    driver is ready !!!!
    WOOOOW

  13. reza
    August 13, 2012 at 2:44 am

    download link is not working ????
    my ears is long

  14. hans
    August 15, 2012 at 2:47 am

    yeah well driver is out but it still kind of sucks … why don’t they release it with the fitting firmware for the touchscreen – so now I don’t know what firmware is right now. Okay the driver works and I don’t have ghost touches but my edges are not that touch sensitive so switching tasks and opening the menubar on the right doesn’t really work that good. In my opinion I can’t absolutely understand what took them so long to release more or less just the calibration tool.

    • August 15, 2012 at 4:35 am

      hans, I totally agree. 3 month wait for that, not impressed. I don’t know how they are going survive the Windows 8 release. I think we are seeing the beginning of the end for N-trig.

  15. tourniquet88
    August 15, 2012 at 5:08 am

    I think most of the new tablets got a wacom digitizer anyway, right?

    Btw, why is this driver “designed for Windows 8 Developer Preview and Consumer Preview releases.” and not the release preview? Most of the problems i’ve got with ntrig, is with the release preview and not the consumer preview.

  16. August 15, 2012 at 5:58 am

    New driver is working great for me. I appreciate having the little “ghost” of the pen location, that is a small but useful improvement.

    Anybody found a way to get the ability to switch from pen-only / touch-only / dual ? Absence of that still makes inking a nuisance.

    Thanks Cameron! I would never have undertaken this without your help, but I am very glad that I did. As an earlier poster said: “I like my Slate again!”

    • August 15, 2012 at 6:35 am

      Chris,

      Right now that is my biggest complaint with N-trig and the lack of control over the input mode (the ability to change Pen Only, Touch Only, Auto Mode, and Dual Mode). The latest update has the touch tuning or calibration, but the lack of being able to control the input mode and to eliminate the false touches is driving me nuts. I will say that something is better than nothing, but they have had over 6 months since W8 was introduced to get it worked out and I’m not impressed…

      I am glad that you have found the blog useful. I really like the HP Slate except for the N-trig part. 🙂

      Cameron

  17. hans
    August 15, 2012 at 1:50 pm

    yeah cameron I totally agree, we need a full driver like it is available for windows 7 with the full software and in my opinion also with the exact firmware version for the hardware and a complete installer for all that shit – I can’t understand why they call the driver version 2.0 … it’s more like alpha 0.0.2 – okay the biggest problem is solved … the ghost touches – but I (don’t know if it is only my problem) have a much bigger problem now – the active edges in windows 8 are not being recognized by the driver. So touch is starting to work about 10 pixels away from the edge – and I didn’t find a way to solve this yet. how to use windows 8 with touch when I am not able to get to the menu because this f*in sidebar is not showing up (okay I have a bezel round the screen on my dell latitude xt but it worked pretty good with the old driver (but I had ghost touches)

    Anyways, what did they do that took them so long to release the driver 1.0 + calibration tool because it is nothing more than that – and i absolutely agree with the talking about ntrig to not be able to survive with this kind of softwareshit they produce.

    I’d buy a windows 8 device but just if there is no ntrig device inside …

    greez

    hans

    • August 16, 2012 at 7:53 pm

      Hans,

      I just ran a quick test. I restored my original HP Slate 500 W7 image and then upgraded to W8 Release Preview (by accident, meant to use the RTM, oh well). I then installed the N-trig updated drivers (v2), and the touch screen on the right swiping from the right to the left isn’t working. Very strange.

      UPDATE:
      Disregard, after a reboot it seems to be working now.

      Do you have HP Slate 500 or the Slate 2?

      Man I wish N-trig would release the DuoSense. UGH!!!

  18. hans
    August 17, 2012 at 2:57 am

    I don’t have a HP at all. I have a Dell Latitude XT – some kind of old convertible notebook.
    But the Ntrig screen is kind of the same. I don’t know if the problem is the thing with the firmware BUT on windows 8 I am able to install a (maybe not totally up2date) firmware version that comes with the windows 7 x64 ntrig driver that is provided on the dell homepage this version can be installed in windows 8 but the drivers don’t work. Then after installing the new windows 8 v2 driver everything works and the calibration tool also does its job. Now I have the problem that the touchscreen does not recognize any touches that are about 10 to 20 pixels from the side … so now I run everything in a lower resolution and don’t let the screen stretch it. But this is also kind of crap … waiting for the final of windows 8 then.
    Maybe I try installing windows 7 first to update to the really latest firmware and I hope it will finally work then.
    But anyway …. what the hell are they waiting for to release a final version of the driver with all features … I mean DuoSense and everything is kind of an important software to make the touchscreen really usable. I can open the ntrig control panel from the dell windows 7 driver I installed but I get an error “MTM HID Connection failed” – it still opens the panel but all settings don’t have any effekt. So I think they just have to set the connection right because the software itself seems to work in windows 8.

    Sorry for all this text but I think I just had to get along with my frustration about it 😛

    Greez
    Hans

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

