Home > Computers, Gadgets and Tools, Microsoft, Tablet PC, Tips and Tricks > Dream Slate or Tablet (throw back)

Dream Slate or Tablet (throw back)

This is a couple days after Microsoft big Windows 10 Device event.  With the announcement of the new Surface Pro 4 and the Surface book it got me to thinking about what I am using and what I want in a device.  I happened to look back to some notes that I had made back in April 2012 of the features that I was looking for for my dream slate\tablet device.  This was before the release of the first generation of the Surface Pro line (June 2012).  This was also after owning and using an assortment of underwhelming slates\tablets.  Well this was my list in OneNote.

Screen Size of around 10” (aspect ratio 3:2 not 16:9)

5 hours of battery

128GB SSD

i5 Core processer (x64)

(2) USB slots

Full SD Card or MicroSD

Detachable Keyboard

HDMI (Mini)

Pen Silo

Wacom Digitizer

MicroUSB Charging

 

Well it is 2015, what am I using now.  My main work machine is the Surface Pro 3 (i7/8GB/256GB) device running Windows 10.  I am running it through Surface Dock and running two Dell U2414H in a DaisyChain.  I absolutely love it.

Now, my home machine and my consumption device is a Surface 3 model.  I went with the 4GB/64GB model (LC5-00001) that comes with Windows 8.1 Professional.  This is really a great size memory and hard drive space as the majority of stuff that I have is up in OneDrive or DropBox.

The Surface 3 device almost checks off everyone of my previous wants.  I really love the size of this device.

This is going to be my dream tablet list for 2015.

Screen Size again at the 10” (same 3:2 aspect ratio)

Stylus that keeps advancing like the SP4 pen

128GB+ SSD

i5 core + (fanless)

(1) USB 3.1 or C

MicroUSB Charging

Detachable Keyboard base like the new Surface Book that contains additional juice (GPU/memory/HDD)

I’m over the Pen Silo want.

MicroSD Card

Mini-DisplayPort

10+ hours of battery life

 

There you go.  What is your favorite tablet?  What do you want in your dream tablet?

  1. Theo Van Hemelrijk
    October 11, 2015 at 12:17 am

    Hi Cameron,
    A long time ago… but i still love my Asus Eee B121 that I upgrade myself with a Mushkin 256 Gb SSD, a Wacom Bamboo Pen and now Windows Pro 10. But after that I really like the Surface Pro 4 and it is my first choice.
    After installing Windows 10 I have an annoying problem to type with my Wacom Pen.
    Instead of my trusty keyboard I always get a writing field and should I do a number of actions to type instead writing with my Wacom Bamboo Pen. When I use my fingers, I see immediately the keyboard to type.
    Is there no way to disable this writing field (registry)?
    My best regards to you,
    Theo Van Hemelrijk

    • October 16, 2015 at 8:02 am

      Yes, I had the B121 at one time as well. Loved it (except for the battery life). How are you liking W10 on it. Any driver issues?

      As for your question about the onscreen keyboard. I haven’t found a workaround, and yes it is annoying as all get out. It happens to me as well with any tablet on W10. If I find something I will definitely post a blog on it.

      • Theo Van Hemelrijk
        October 16, 2015 at 8:47 am

        I really like W10 on my B121 especially the synchronisation with my Microsoft (Lumia) 640 phone. I only hope for a solution with my keyboard problem. I can’t understand why Microsoft do not let us the choice between a keyboard or a writing field.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.