Installing Norton Ghost 15.0 on Windows 8

I have been running into several issues trying to get Norton Ghost version 15.0 installed and running on my HP Slate 500 running Windows 8 Developers Preview

ISSUE 1:
I can’t seem to enter my license key.  When trying to install the license key I keep getting an error message:

Cannot activate this product using license key <license key>.  The license key is not valid.  Please enter the correct license key.

Ghost Activation message (sm)

I have confirmed that it is a good key by installing on a test machine running Windows 7.

STATUS:
I have not resolved this.  I am currently running the 30 day evaluation.

ISSUE 2:
I wasn’t able to get Ghost to detect any drives.  After initially installing and running under evaluation license it wouldn’t detect any local or connected hard drives.

RESOLUTION OF ISSSUE 2:
Install using Windows 7 Compatibility Mode.

1. Create a folder on your computer called C:\GhostCD and copy the Norton Ghost contents into that directory.
2. Open C:\GhostCD\Install and right click on SETUP.EXE and select Properties. Click on the Compatibility tab. Put a check for “Run this program in compatibility mode for:” and select Windows 7. Click Apply and then OK.
3. Double click on SETUP.EXE to install.

ISSUE 3:
Getting error when trying to run a One time backup.

-Error EBAB0013: A test that safeguards the integrity of the program failed unexpectedly.  CHECK failed.  SnapShotDevice::GetDeviceCharacteristics3: .\SnapShotDevice.cpp(262):mSymSnapVolume->IsSnapped().

(UMI:V-0-2987-19)

Ghost Image Error (sm)

RESOUTION OF ISSUE 3:
In my case when I selected to backup the C Drive it was also wanting to backup the SYSTEM drive.  I unchecked that selection and just backed up the C Drive and it ran.

UPDATE 11/12/2012:
This is still an issue with the Windows 8 Full Release (RTM) on HP Slate 500 and Samsung Series 7 Slate.

  1. kleczerx
    January 2, 2013 at 11:57 am

    Put your Norton Ghost V15 to a bootable USB or CD/DVD disk, and boot from these to begin a backup. In light of the program failing to install in a Windows 8 OS, I now do this to backup my Windows 8 PC’s. The method is the same as when you wish to restore, so do the same to create a backup image.

  2. David Markun
    September 17, 2015 at 11:43 am

    Thank you for your Issue 3 workaround notes, which just helped me get Norton Ghost 15 running in Windows 10 (after upgrading from Windows 7). I was having the same mSymSnapVolume->IsSnapped() assertion failure that you were getting, which I take to mean that something in the Volume Snapshot failed. If I override Ghost to force backup of C: and D: only, without backing up Dell’s “Recovery” partition, I get successful backup.

    Out of curiosity, I experimented with a one-time backup of just that Recovery partition and got a somewhat different error (below) I will not worry about that further, as I have many many backups of this more or less static Recovery partition.
    -Error E7B70001: Win32/Win64 API DeviceIoControl(IOCTL_VSNAP_MAKE_READONLY) failed.
    –Error EBAB03F1: The device does not recognize the command.
    (UMI:V-0-1975-1)

  3. manao
    October 3, 2017 at 5:49 am

    thank you very much for ISSUE 3 on WINDOWS 10 64 bits. Now, Norton 15 can mount a backup of C:\ on my computer…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.