Home > Surface Book, Surface Pro 4, Tips and Tricks, Windows 10 Insider Build > Surface Pro 4 Pen stops working on Surface Book Insider 16362

Surface Pro 4 Pen stops working on Surface Book Insider 16362

I just upgraded from Windows Insider build 16353 to 16362 and the Surface Pro 4 Pen\Stylus is not registering when I click the screen.

*Update: This happened again after upgrading from 16362 to 17004

I checked the Device Manager | Human Interface Devices and found nothing that would indicate a problem.  I checked the Bluetooth devices and the Surface Pen showed up. 

The pen worked on another Surface device, so I knew the pen was working and had battery.

I tried to reboot and that did not resolve.

I tried to remove the Bluetooth device and re-add and that did not resolve.

I tired to remove the battery and that did not resolve.

I finally got it to work.

I opened up the Device Manager and went to Human Interface Devices.  I right clicked on the following drivers and uninstalled

-> Surface Pen Integration

-> Surface Pen Settings

I rebooted and the pen began to work.  I verified that those devices showed back up in Device Manager.

*this is not the Surface Pro 3 Stylus.  This is the pen that comes with the Surface Pro 4 or Surface Book.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.