Home > Gadgets and Tools, Surface Pro, Windows 8.1 > I have found my perfect Tablet (for now)

I have found my perfect Tablet (for now)

I have been testing out some Windows 8 Tablets at work and I think that I have found my perfect Tablet (for now). In the last couple of months I have been testing the Samsung ATIV 700T and the Microsoft Surface Pro. While each have their pros and cons I kept going back to the Surface Pro.

I blogged sometime back about what my dream tablet was here. I am still looking for it, but the Surface Pro has bridged the gap for a while. It has some flaws (battery life, lack of multiple USB ports), which the newer Surface Pro 2 resolves at least the first (battery life).

For the last month I have went all in and traded in my work laptop (Dell Latitude E6420) for a Microsoft Surface Pro. Mind you I am still running my dual 22″ monitors at work through a USB 3.0 Hub (Lenovo USB 3.0 Dock, specs here). This dock allows me to power dual monitors, Ethernet, and additional USB slots all through the USB 3.0 connector on the Surface.

As for not having to lug the Dell Latitude it has been a real treat.

  1. Bonnie
    October 8, 2013 at 10:40 pm

    Isn’t the Surface Pro an RT version of Windows 8? What limitations does the RT version windows 8 have in comparison to the full version, as running on the Dell Latitude Tablet that runs a full version windows 8? Inquiring minds . . . . Have you seen any of the 8inch windows 8 mini tablets that were just announced? Any thoughts on those?

    • October 9, 2013 at 5:06 am

      No, the Surface Pro is the full Windows, just like the Dell Latitude, full Windows OS. There is a separate Surface called the Surface RT that is a Runtime version of Windows. The two big things for me, the RT only allows you to install from the Windows Store and you can’t join to a corporate domain.

      Yeah, looks like Dell just released some info on their new line of tablets. A 8″ and 11″ full Windows 8.1 Tablet. Looks promising. The 11″ actually has a keyboard option, which could make it as a viable option for me. I loved the Lat10, but lack of integrated keyboard was a downer for me, along with the cpu/memory.

      What are you seeing that interests you?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

