Home > Dell Latitude 10, Tips and Tricks, Windows 8 > Create a system image–failure 0x80780119

Create a system image–failure 0x80780119

I just recently got my Dell Latitude 10 Tablet and the first thing that I wanted to do was to create a system image before dinking with it.

Unfortunately, when It tried to run the backup I received the following error:

Windows 8 System Image Fails

This is the first time that I have run across this error so initially I didn’t know what to do.  I took a search on Google and found quite a number of people reporting it, but not a rock solid way to resolve it.

I initially took a look at the storage manager in the device manager.  I see right away that there is one partition of 500 MB is size. 

Dell Latitude 10 Storage Manager

I wasn’t able to determine the amount of free space through the device manager.  Well after some searching I did find several people running into a similar issue and they shrunk the partition under the 500 MB limit to get by the error.

I wasn’t able to make any changes to these partitions in the Device Manager, so I had to find another way.  After some additional searching I found a tool called MiniTool Partition Wizard Home Edition (here), a free utility that allows you to edit any partitions.  A very small download, small footprint, and very easy to use.

I chose to edit the partition and shrinking it from 500 to 492 and after a reboot I was able to run the native Windows System Image Backup. #FTW

Dell Latitude 10 Storage Manger (After Partition Shrink)

Another option would be to use DiskPart to shrink the partition.

  1. kengr
    June 7, 2013 at 9:10 am

    I ran into the same issue on a new ASUS G75VW laptop (4 partitions: 300MB , and your workaround of shrinking the recovery partition to below 500MB did get around the error during backup. It completed without reporting any errors. However, when I attempted a bare metal restore to a brand new (larger) hard disk, the restore failed and the result was not bootable. I’m curious if you have tried the restore process using the backup you made.

    Interestingly, I also tried Acronis True Image 2013 (full version) to back up all the partitions and do a bare metal restore. Both backup and restore worked without, but the resulting system after restore was stuck in a nearly endless loop of “automatic repair,” and failures, finally resulting in an “unable to repair” message.

    • July 16, 2013 at 8:22 pm

      Kengr,

      Sorry to hear you are having issues. I do system backups and restores all the time and have not had any issues. I have used Windows native backup tools along with Acronis without problem.

      Cameron

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

