Home > Gadgets and Tools, Slate, Tablet PC, Windows 8 > My Dream Windows 8 Tablet

My Dream Windows 8 Tablet

I am a huge fan of the Windows Tablets.  I have owned HP TC1100, ASUS EP121/B121, HP Slate 500, Dell Latitude ST, Samsung Series 7 Slate, and now Samsung /build/ (Series 7) Tablet and with each one it is missing something.  ***Update (missing from photo) Dell Latitude 10 Tablet, Microsoft Surface, and Samsung ATIV Pro 700T.

Windows Tablets

So I decided since I have such great pull with the hardware vendors, I would put together my must have specs.  This way they can start building it.

MY DREAM WINDOWS TABLET
Wacom Pen/Digitizer with silo in Tablet
Detachable Keyboard with touchpad (with additional battery)
Removable Battery
i5 Core CPU (x64) & 4GB Ram (More would be nice)
128GB SSD
10.1 Screen (Not GMA, also wish it wasn’t 1366×768, I like 1024×768)
Gorilla Glass
Full Size SD Card
HDMI (mini ok)
USB 3.0 on Tablet
USB 3.0 on Keyboard
At least 5 hours of battery life
Decent Front & Rear camera
Hardware button: Start/Windows Button and Keyboard Button
Optional Dock with Ethernet, full HDMI, More USB 3.0, maybe some nice speakers built in. (dream big!)

Is there a Windows Tablet that has all this?  Close, but not yet.

What are your must haves with the new Windows 8 Tablets?  Here’s your chance to speak up and let those vendors what you want.

  1. Bonnie
    January 29, 2013 at 7:43 am

    HAHA! Cameron I love it! I have actually been waiting for the perfect windows tablet myself. I like Windows 8 specifically for my tablet (the full version as opposed to the “tablet” version = are they much different?) so I guess that is a no-brainer criteria for the OS. I am running WIndows 8 on my Slate 500 and most everything is good enough right now, except I was never able to resolve the screen rotation (which doesn’t work since I installed the full windows 8 OS). In your opinion, how would you rank your Windows tablets that you mention above from best to worst? What is each tablet missing from your dream list? I like the smaller size of the Slate – although it is on the heavy side and gets hot. But when it is in the leather holder, I don’t experience any discomfort.

    • February 2, 2013 at 12:29 pm

      Bonnie,

      I went back to Windows 7 on the HP 500 Slate. The lack of decent N-trig touch control make it unusable for me.

      I have been partial to the Latitude 10 recently, but if I had to rank them and main thing missing
      Dell Latitude 10 Tablet (Lack of attached Keyboard/clamshell)
      Samsung Series 7 Slate (Lack of attached Keyboard/clamshell)
      Asus B121 (Battery Life, Lack of attached Keyboard/Clamshell)
      HP 500 Slate (N-trig, Size, Lack of Power, Lack of attached Keyboard/Clamshell)
      TC1100 (Battery, Lack of Power)
      Dell Latitude ST (Everything, worthless pile)

      • Deniz
        February 3, 2013 at 8:25 am

        I picked up an HP Slate 500 and used this site a bit with the n-trig drivers, but ended up getting so frustrated w/ it that I sold it on Amazon.com. It was a nice device, but the way Windows 8 performed was a deal breaker for me! I agree any windows 8 tablet w/o the hybrid (keyboard/clamshell dock) option is a deal breaker for me, not sure if the Surface would change that (I know several people that have them and LOVE them – RT too)…but I’m waiting patiently for the ‘next big thing’ 🙂

  2. Deniz
    January 29, 2013 at 1:29 pm

    I agree, nothing out there currently gets me excited (The samsung Ativ comes close); I was going to pickup a Surface Pro (as a compromise) because I desperately want a tablet/laptop hybrid because I travel a lot for work, but I recently stumbled across this device and I’m waiting impatiently (or maybe drooling is more like it).

    http://www.lenovo.com/products/us/tablet/thinkpad/thinkpad-helix/

    The helix (in my opinion – I don’t work for Lenovo) is the perfect mix, a tablet w/ a hybrid form factor (keyboard dock w/ battery), along with a desktop dock option (USB 3.0) to give dual monitors while I’m at my desk at home. Also has an i7 w/ up to 8GB of RAM (per the tech spec sheet, although the website says 4gb – multiple presentations including the CES 2013 are saying 8gb, so I’m hoping) so hopefully this thing PERFORMS. This machine has the pen included, as well as an optional 4G (crossing my fingers for CDMA/Verizon). Anyway I’m super excited, I think this will wet my appetitie for at least a few months! 🙂 Now if only they would release the damn thing!!

    • February 2, 2013 at 12:33 pm

      Deniz,

      Yes, the Helix looks very very promising.

      Work is going to be getting a few of the Surface Pros which I am excited to try out. I am not sold on the keyboard on these. I guess I am looking more for a laptop type of keyboard that can undock into tablet mode.

      I tell you the old HP TC1100 was well ahead of its time. I still love the keyboard docking mechanism. Almost 10 years later, I am still waiting for the keyboard. 🙂

      Let me know when you pull the trigger on the Helix. I would be very curious how you like it.

      Cameron

      • Deniz
        February 3, 2013 at 8:22 am

        Will do! Same for the surface pro! I’m almost tempted to just get one to play with and either sell or return it when the Helix comes out! 🙂

  3. Bonnie
    February 19, 2013 at 11:18 am

    I recently bought the Dell Latitude 10 with a Kensington Case that has a bluetooth keyboard in the case. I am very happy with the Latitude 10 tablet – am waiting for the case to arrive. Will let you know how that configuration works. Would like to sell my HP Slate 500 = WIndows 8 Pro is still on it and running very well – I also have the install discs for the Windows 7 for the Slate. IF you know anyone who is interested, let me know. I like how light the Latitude is – much better for my arthritic hands. Would like to see more variety and better quality Window 8 apps though.

  4. September 3, 2013 at 1:58 pm

    I love your idea! Yes indeed I am waiting for a similar tablet too. I love wacom and would love to have something like that heavily integrated because I use my wacom tablet every day! Thanks for sharing 🙂

  1. February 1, 2013 at 9:23 am
  2. October 8, 2013 at 7:55 pm

Leave a Reply

