Home > Gadgets and Tools, Reviews, Tablet PC, Windows 8 > Dell Latitude 10 Tablet

Dell Latitude 10 Tablet

I am a pretty big fan of Windows Tablets and have been for some time.  I am especially excited with all the new stuff that is coming out.  One such Windows Tablet that I have been drooling over is the Dell Latitude 10 (here).  It is currently retailing for $900, but currently on a special price for $650.

I was recently visited by one of our Dell representatives at work and he had brought the sister tablet Latitude XPS 10, which is the Windows RT version.  I was able to play around with it for a bit and loved the touch, the responsiveness, and the fact that it had detachable keyboard with touchpad.  It was a very solid fit.  Unfortunately, I later found out that the Latitude 10 will not have that same keyboard.  Big disappointment if you ask me.  The Dell rep said that he would send me one when he got them in stock so I could give it a spin.  Well I just got the email and have it coming my way to give it a run. 

LATITUDE 10 SPECIFICATIONS

  • Intel® Atom™ processor Z2760 1.8GHz with Intel® Burst Technology, 1.5GHz HFM, 600MHz LFM
  • Windows 8 Pro, 32-bit
  • 10.1" IPS (1366 X 768) Wide View Angle LCD, Corning® Gorilla® Glass, Capacitive 10 Finger Touch
  • 2GB DDR2 SDRAM at 800MHz
  • 64GB of Solid State Storage, enabled for mobile broadband (HSPA+)
  • Intel® Graphics Media Accelerator (533MHz)
  • 1.47 lbs
  • Full Size SD Slot
  • USB 2.0 Slot
  • Mini HDMI
  • Removable Battery
  • 2MP Front Facing Camera
  • 8MP Rear Facing Camera
  • Wacom Digitizer (optional pen)
  • Productivity Docking Station (optional) (2) USB, Ethernet, HDMI and Audio Output

I will have it for about 30 days to test it out and will blog about it more.

  1. Bonnie
    November 13, 2012 at 12:14 am

    OH that is sweet! If I could get a decent offer on my HP Slate 500 I would buy one right now! I like my slate and I got it for a good price but that new Dell is NICE.

    • November 13, 2012 at 6:33 am

      Yeah, I was thinking the same thing.

  2. Bonnie
    November 19, 2012 at 11:17 pm

    Did you get the latitude 10 yet? I have been unsuccessful several times now in trying to get the screen rotation to work on my slate since I installed windows 8 upgrade. I am tired of trying. I am THIS close to buying the Latitude 10 but want to hear what you think of it.

    • Bonnie
      November 19, 2012 at 11:20 pm

      What do you think of the Surface? What is the difference between a Win 8 RT tablet and a Win 8 Pro tablet?

      • November 20, 2012 at 2:23 pm

        Surface looks nice. Friend has the RT version and it seem very nice. I am not sold on the RT devices.

        I think the main thing to think about when deciding with the RT and the PRO is that the RT will be usually a lesser powerful processor and the RT is not the same OS than the Windows 8 PRO. You will also be stuck to purchase or download programs from the Microsoft Store. You wont be able to install other programs on the RT, like the Apple iPad. RT is like Apple iOS. There are some great article on the differences. I will probably be leaning toward a i5 device for my next tablet. The HP Slate and Atom processor kind of soured me.

      • Bonnie
        November 20, 2012 at 3:30 pm

        What is an i5 device?

      • November 20, 2012 at 5:29 pm

        An i5 Device is the Intel rating of the Processors. Intel rates them as an i3, i5, or i7. The higher the number the better the processor.

        The current set of tablets seem to be Atom based like the HP Slate 500 or they are an Intel i3 or i5 (haven’t seen a i7 tablet). They higher the processor the higher the power required to run it. You will typically see better battery life in an Atom based CPU than an “i” core CPU.

        Personally, I can live with the lower battery life with an i5 core processor.

    • November 20, 2012 at 2:15 pm

      I haven’t gotten any notification from Dell on the Latitude 10. I have heard other rumors that there are a lot of delays with tablets, so I think that might be the case with the Latitude 10. Their site shows delays as well. I do have an email to my Dell rep on the status. I definitely looks nice. I just wish it had the detachable keyboard like the XPS 10. We’ll see. I have started looking at the Samsung ATIV SmartPC PRO, step up from the Samsung Series 7 Slate. This is an i5/4GB/128GB, but also includes the detachable keyboard. Very nice looking.

  3. marjoriepritchett
    September 4, 2013 at 9:01 am

    Great post. I was checking continuously ths blog and I’m
    impressed! Extremely useful info particularly the last
    part 🙂 I care for such info a lot. I was looking for this certain information for a very long
    time. Thank you and good luck.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

