Home > ASUS B121, Gadgets and Tools, HP Slate 500, Pet Peeves, Samsung Series 7 Slate, Slate, Tips and Tricks, Windows 8 RTM > HP Slate 500 N-trig Input Control (Touch) Workaround

HP Slate 500 N-trig Input Control (Touch) Workaround

One of my biggest complaints with the HP Slate 500 on Windows 8 is the lack of decent touch control with N-trig.  N-trig has decided that they aren’t going to fix their drivers.  That’s fine, this will be my last device that has N-trig digitizer.  My dollars will be spent elsewhere.

So, what’s the problem you say.  My problem with the N-trig drivers is the lack of support with the input control (Digitizer Settings, see screen shot below).  This is what allows you to change how the touch and pen act (see picture).  Pen Only, Touch Only, Auto Mode, Dual Mode.

This Input Control (Digitizer Settings) do not work in Windows 8 and N-trig is not going to fix.  Shame.

N-trig DuoSense Digitizer Setttings

So, what does this mean.  Well, for me I get the palm rejection or false touches when I write and my hand (palm) touches the screen.  The current setting is Dual mode, concurrent Touch and Pen input.  Think of it like the touchpad on your laptop.  You are typing and your palm touches the touchpad and causes the cursor to jump to a different spot on the page.  On a laptop you have the touchpad control that allows you to turn off if it senses a mouse plugged in or when you are typing.  Well, with N-trig, you don’t any longer on Windows 8.  No workie & No fixie.

I was browsing the internet the other day and happened on a blog post where the blogger found a workaround.  You will have to forgive me that I can’t find the blogger’s post or the blogger’s name.  When I do, I will definitely give him/her credit.

What is this workaround going to do?  This will temporarily disable the touch control on the Slate.  This would be similar to selecting Pen Only above.  This will allow only Pen touch only and the touch is temporarily disabled.  This isn’t going to be for everybody, but for this is golden for me.  Unfortunately, I haven’t found a way similarly to Auto mode.

Going to download a program that is a that when run connects to the Device Manager like view that allows you to enable and disable devices.  However the steps below will create a shortcut or command line that will be used to disable the touch.  You can also pin the shortcuts to the Task Bar for easy use.

STEPS:

1. Go out to www.Nirsoft.com and find a program named DevManView (direct link).  At the writing of this post the current version is v1.27.  Scroll down to the bottom and download the (x86) version (or x64 version for Samsung Series 7 or ASUS B121)

2. Create a directory on the root of your C Drive called TouchControl

3. Unzip the file you downloaded in Step 1 into the C:\TouchControl folder.  There are 4 files that are extracted.

4. Create a shortcut in that directory using the following command.

a. Open Device Manger | Devices | N-trig DuoSense(R) Digitizers

b. Locate “N-trig DuoSense MultiTouch HID Device” and double click.

N-trig Device Manager (TouchControl)

c. Click on the Events Tab.  Copy the value that is highlighted in yellow.  This value will be added when you create the shortcuts.

N-trig Device Manager (TouchControl-Events)

d. Open Windows Explorer, browse to the C:\TouchControl and right click in the folder and select New | Shortcut

e. Copy and paste the Disable command below into the path, but using your value that you got above.

DISABLE
C:\TouchControl\DevManView.exe /Disable “HID\VID_1B96&PID_0001&MI_01&Col02\7&24205bb2&0&0001”

f. Click through and give the name of the Shortcut “Disable Touch

g. Now Create another shortcut but use the ENABLE command below and name it “Enable Touch”, also using your value that you got above.

ENABLE
C:\TouchControl\DevManView.exe /Enable “HID\VID_1B96&PID_0001&MI_01&Col02\7&24205bb2&0&0001”

5. Add the shortcuts to the Task Bar just right click on the shortcut and select Pin to Task Manager.

6. To give it a little flair right click on the Shortcut | Properties | Change Icon, browse through the list and select an Icon that you like for Disable and Enable shortcuts.  I picked the Green for the Enable and Red for the Disable.

2 DevManView TouchControl Fix

 

**Please note that the device that controls touch may not be the same on your tablet.  I was able to get this to work using the information below on my HP Slate 500, Samsung Series 7 Slate, and ASUS B121 eSlate but using the 64bit version of DevManView.  I have not found anything about the downloaded software that would cause any alarm.  It is not installing any software it is extracting several files that launch as a separate program.

EDITED (11/10/2012)
Found that the HID value is different on every computer.  Updated blog post to reflect that.

Also, this does require the elevated permissions when doing so.  I haven’t found a way around this.  You are actually disabling a device so I don’t think there will be a workaround.  I run my as a standard user and then another account that has Admin and just pop in the credentials when prompted.  I have run this so long that I don’t give it a second thought.

  1. Prem
    November 10, 2012 at 6:56 pm

    Hi Cameron,
    I tried on my hp slate 500 but did not work. Could you please check the command please? Or I am missing something? Thanks.

    Regards,
    Prem

    • November 10, 2012 at 9:01 pm

      Prem

      Open your Device Manager and expand the N-trig Digitizer(R) Digitizers. Locate the N-trig DuoSense MultiTouch HID Device. Click on the Events tab.

      What do you have in the information part?
      Mine is: HID\VID_1B96&PID_0001&MI_01&Col02\7&24205bb2&0&0001

      This is the value you will want to change. It is possible that yours might be different. Let me know.

      Cameron

  2. Prem
    November 10, 2012 at 9:21 pm

    Hi Cameron,
    Many many thanks for the great post. Now I figure it out how that command works. Actually the last digits in the command line differs from machine to machine which can be found by opening the device manager and double clicking in the N-tirg HID touch input, and then event, which needs to be copied to the command. In my first attempt I failed b/c I copied ditto from yours including those quotation marks. Thanks again.

    Regards,
    Prem

    • November 10, 2012 at 9:29 pm

      Great to hear that it is working. I was afraid that they may be different. I will update the post to reflect that. Thanks for the quick feedback.

      Cameron

  3. Prem
    November 11, 2012 at 5:26 pm

    Hi Cameron,
    Now I have small new problem. I have two user accounts in my slate 500, one with administrative privilege and the other without it. Most of the time time I use the account without administrative privilege for the security reasons. In order to run the shortcut created for disabling or enabling the touch screen, needs UAC login every time when I run these shortcuts from this user account, which is a kind of nuisance. Is there any way to bypass UAC? Thanks.

    Regards,
    Prem

    • November 11, 2012 at 6:43 pm

      I do the same and I haven’t found a way around it. I just put a short password for the admin account. 🙂

  4. andrew
    November 15, 2012 at 3:01 am

    I’m shocked with Ntrig and Hp windows8 driver support for the slate 500. I brought win8… most startups i have ghost taps and cant logon. the new drivers not work and the using the G3.5 touch config makes it worse. Not sure what to do!

    • November 15, 2012 at 7:29 pm

      Andrew,
      Unfortunately that is N-trig driver issue. Did you upgrade to W8 or fresh install of W8. I found that I have been digitizer experience with an upgrade to W8.

      Cameron

  5. andrew
    November 15, 2012 at 3:05 am

    The default microsoft touch driver works smooth with no lag scrolling folders however, Ntrig driver lags in folders but is smooth in internet explorer. Hope these crap drivers will be fixed soon.

    • November 15, 2012 at 7:27 pm

      I experience the same thing. Sadly, I am not holding my breath that N-trig will update the drivers.

  6. December 5, 2012 at 12:06 am

    Hey! I’m at work surfing around your blog from my new iphone! Just wanted to say I love reading through your blog and look forward to all your posts! Keep up the fantastic work!

  7. tourniquet88
    December 13, 2012 at 5:36 pm

    N-trig doesn’t plan to update the drivers:
    “for the time being, the Beta2 drivers are the final version and we do not have a plan to release a newer version.”

    source: http://www.ntrig.com/Content.aspx?Page=FAQ&FAQCategoryId=74

    • anddrew
      January 14, 2013 at 3:25 pm

      Ntrig replied to my email earlier this month stating a post beta2 diver will be available, see reply below.

      Regarding the ghost problem, we are now in a process of rolling out a new driver, it addresses several issues regarding performance. The driver should be available in a two week’s timeframe, and you will be able to download it via our website. Can you please try to perform calibration when not connected to AC power supply? That might help you issue.

      Regards,
      N-trig E-support

      • January 14, 2013 at 5:48 pm

        That is good news. Unfortunately, I am not holding my breath that they will get it right.
        Thanks for the info.

    • January 14, 2013 at 5:49 pm

      Posting just mentioned that he got word that they are close to releasing updated W8 drivers.
      Thought you should know.

      • tourniquet88
        January 17, 2013 at 3:38 pm

        Any idea when excatly it will be released?
        Can’t we just try the Q702 driver? I know it does use a newer DuoSense (v4) version, but maybe this driver does also work?

      • January 26, 2013 at 8:45 pm

        tourniquet88,

        As far as I know the v4 duesense won’t work with this digitizer. From a previous comment from another user they were getting close. How long that will be is anybody guess. They have been very slow in the past getting stuff out.

        Unless this driver has the input control it is worthless to me.

        We’ll see.
        Cameron

  8. Pete Milligan
    December 29, 2012 at 6:12 am

    Superb workaround. Reverted back to Windows 7 because of this issue. Now much happier with this feature being ‘enabled’ on Windows 8.

  9. magriii
    February 9, 2013 at 1:10 am

    Hi Cameron, thanks for a great tip.
    The events tab is missing on my computer. The ID can be also found on the details tab under “Device Instance Path”

    • February 10, 2013 at 4:53 pm

      Magriii,
      I don’t think that I have seen that. I am glad that there is another way to get the info.
      Cameron

  10. martin schneider
    February 13, 2013 at 8:56 pm

    Cameron, thanks for helping my state 500 work with Windows8. This tip was great and kept me from reloading win7. Today the 13th of Feb., the updates came from Microsoft. The pen no longer works. The Ntrig site still shows the Aug 2012 driver. HP does not seen to support the win 8 OS on the slate 500.
    Seems MS has made improvements on the writing pad with your finger. I like the pen much better. Will wait a little while to see if drivers come out from N-Trig.

    Marty

    • February 13, 2013 at 9:26 pm

      Martin,

      Hey Thanks. I am glad you found something that I wrote helpful. 🙂

      I am big fan of W8 on the Slate and if it wasn’t for the lack of N-trig drivers it would really be the best tablet. Love the size and battery life.

      First verify in the Device Manager that the HID Device for N-trig is enabled and not disabled. If that is ok try reinstalling the N-trig Drivers (Aug 2012). Lastly, try uninstalling the recent Windows updates one at a time with a reboot in between to see if that resolves.

      Hope one of things works for you.
      Thanks again for your kind comment.

      Cameron

      • martin schneider
        February 14, 2013 at 6:53 am

        I did a hard reboot this morning and the pen was able to use the calibration tool that came with the Aug: release by N-trig. Still many false taps but is working adequately to keep Win 8 on the Slate 500.
        marty

  11. João Von Rondow
    March 25, 2013 at 9:43 pm

    Portugues = Oi Cameron, sou do Brasil e tenho um HP Slate 500, não sei onde colar esse comando…é um arquivo de bloco de notas ou arquivo de registro? Não conssegui entender. Poderia postar uma imagem de como ficou o seu arquivo?

    Ingles = Hi Cameron, I’m from Brazil and I have a HP Slate 500, do not know where … paste this command is a notepad file or registry file? Conssegui not understand. Could you post a picture of how your file was?

    • April 10, 2013 at 5:17 am

      João,

      Basically you want to download the program and then create a shortcut to the executable file. That is where you are going to copy the code. You are basically launching the executable with some parameters. Just a quick way to disable the device in the device manger.

      I hope that helps.

      • Joo Von Rondow
        April 10, 2013 at 5:27 am

        Ol Cameron…obrigado. Ajudou muito!

        Grande abrao.

        Date: Wed, 10 Apr 2013 13:17:54 +0000 To: von_jvr@hotmail.com

      • April 10, 2013 at 7:21 am

        João,

        você é muito bem-vindo

        Cameron

      • João Von Rondow
        April 10, 2013 at 9:51 am

        Obrigado pelo bem-vindo Cameron. Esqueci de outra coisa…Você sabe de alguma nova atualização do Driver da placa de vídeo para o HP Slate 500?

        Date: Wed, 10 Apr 2013 15:21:06 +0000
        To: von_jvr@hotmail.com

  12. João Von Rondow
    March 25, 2013 at 9:57 pm

    Portugues = Outra pergunta…onde acho o driver de video compatível?
    Grande abraço.

    João Von Rondow

    Ingles = Another question … where I think the video driver compatible?
    Big hug.

    João Von Rondow

    • Joo Von Rondow
      April 10, 2013 at 2:45 pm

      Eu baixei esse Driver, que voc me enviou no link. Melhora bastante. S que quando vou abrir o programa de desenho ArtRage, ou outro qualquer que faa desenho, o risco da caneta fica atrasando. Isto acontece com todos os programas de Desenho. Talvez precisa de outra atualizao.

      Date: Wed, 10 Apr 2013 18:00:52 +0000 To: von_jvr@hotmail.com

  13. June 16, 2015 at 5:41 am

    Do you have the new ntrig drivers as the there site has gone in the wind. I recently was playing around on my kids tablet and forgot to get the driver install on the tablet and now I cant find it on my machine after I cleaned his up. Touch/pen is broken but hey everything else works in windows 8.

  14. June 16, 2015 at 5:41 am

    Thanks for the help

    • Nathaniel
      August 4, 2015 at 11:52 am

      I was am also looking for this driver now but n-trig site is not up anymore. Mind sharing how you were able to track down?

      • December 8, 2015 at 7:53 am

        Do you still need the drivers? Let me know. I was able to track them down.

  1. November 10, 2013 at 3:11 pm

Leave a Reply

