Home > Slate, Tablet PC, Tips and Tricks, Windows 8 RTM > How to Sign out without a Keyboard in Windows 8

How to Sign out without a Keyboard in Windows 8

One of things that you need to get use to in Windows 8 is the Start button now longer there and some of the new Windows Keyboard shortcuts that aren’t available without a keyboard.

I found my self in that situation the other day at work when I needed to log out of my tablet and log in as my admin account.  Ok, I swipe the charm to bring up the Start button and have the option of a shutdown or restart, but couldn’t figure out how do I just sign out or log out.

I had a Duh moment.

Go to the Start Menu and click on your user in the upper right corner and menu will pop up.  Click the Sign out option.  Bada Bing!  Smile

 

How to Sign Out in Windows 8 without Keyboard

  1. Bonnie
    October 29, 2012 at 1:39 pm

    Hi Cameron – I did an upgrade on my HP Slate 500 (I am the one that had the partitioned harddrive) of the new windows 8 Pro and then loaded all the same drivers in Win 7 compatibilty mode as done in the Preview versions and everthing is great EXCEPT the screen is not rotating when I rotate the tablet – can you refresh me on what I do about that?

    • October 29, 2012 at 6:22 pm

      Bonnie,

      Take a look at this post.
      https://cameronmergel.wordpress.com/2012/06/03/installing-w8rp-hpslate500-p2/
      Look for the instructions following SP51650

      Cameron

      • Bonnie
        November 1, 2012 at 1:30 pm

        Hi Cameron – I went through this process again and I still have no screen rotation – any other thoughts?

      • November 1, 2012 at 5:48 pm

        just to go through the steps again. I have done it multiple times to get the rotation working and it has worked every time. Did you go into Features and enable the .NET framework 3.5?

  2. November 17, 2012 at 2:39 pm

    I appreciate, cause I found just what I was looking for. You’ve ended my 4 day long hunt! God Bless you man. Have a nice day. Bye

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

