Home > 2012, HP Slate 500, Reviews, Windows 8 RTM > N-trig digitizer on my HP Slate 500 (Windows 8 RTM)

N-trig digitizer on my HP Slate 500 (Windows 8 RTM)

N-trig released their much anticipated W8 drivers recently (August 13th).  The drivers have been broken since the Consumer Preview.  Well I downloaded these and immediately tried to install them on my W8 Release Preview.  I wasn’t impressed.

After going back to the instructions I noticed a blurb “before updating to Windows 8, make sure you have the latest bundle installed”.  I must have skipped right over that in my first pass.

N-trig - important

I sent an email to N-trig support to get clarification and received email back a couple of days later.  Basically they stated.

This step comes to ensure you have the latest DuoSense SW installed under Win7.  Then when you upgrade to Win8, you should follow the installations of our new driver and it should work OK.

So they are expecting everybody to upgrade to W8 and not do a fresh install.  I don’t know about you, but I am not a big fan of upgrading.  I like to perform a fresh install.

Well, I since it didn’t seem to work very well in W8 as a fresh install I decided to go back to W7 and see if it was any better.  I found my original W7 image that I took way back in March 2011 and restored it.  I did have to go into the and edit the booting information that W8 updated.  No real big issue.  After getting back to W7 (yuck), I made my W8RTM bootable USB drive and ran the setup.exe off the USB drive.  Got prompted to upgrade and save user settings.  Took about 45 minutes.  After reboot I found that I had no touch or stylus.  I then installed the updated N-trig driver and found that touch and stylus came back.  Checked Device Mgr. and found nothing missing or had issues.

THE GOOD

The much anticipated calibration tool is great and helps with the false touches and ghost taps.

THE BAD

The lack of the Input Control Panel.  Having upgraded from W7 it is there but throws when trying to use.  The exclusion of the Input Control, the ability to put the digitizer to Touch Only, Pen Only, or Auto is a huge missing component.

N-trig DueSense Digitizer Settings (Input Control)

I will say that the drivers are better than what they were in the Consumer Preview and Release Preview (note that they didn’t exist), but still in my opinion are lacking.

I emailed N-trig support to find out when this was going to added and their response back was there are no plans.  Huge, huge disappointment.

I do a lot of inking with the stylus and without this control I get a lot of false touches or palm rejection.  It comes close to being unusable.

Shame on you N-trig…

  1. October 8, 2012 at 2:13 pm

    have you been able to get inking working on win 8? When i try writing, there’s a really bad lag that makes it unusable.

    • October 8, 2012 at 6:08 pm

      Christopher,
      I experienced the inking lag as well. Went back to W7, so I could actually use it. 🙂
      Cameron

  2. Bonnie
    October 12, 2012 at 1:36 pm

    Hi Cameron – So I have a couple of questions for you – One: What do you know about the Windows 8 RT version versus the other Windows 8 versions? I have the RTM version installed on my HP Slate 500 and it is due to expire in about a month and I am waiting for the release of the Windows 8 that I can install on my Slate 500. BUT I am hearing that the Windows 8 RT WILL NOT be available as a software upgrade for any older computers or tablets – ONLY as an upgrade option for new hardware purchases? I have been holding onto this Slate waiting for this software and now I won’t be able to purchase it? Do I even want the other versions of Windows 8? That was my second question.

    • October 12, 2012 at 3:34 pm

      Bonnie,

      There are two flavors of Windows 8. There is the standard OS for Desktops, Laptops, and tablets and there is a new version called Windows 8 RT (or ARM). This will be for tablets, but it will be similar to iPad iOS where the only software that you can install is from the Microsoft App store. You will want the regular Windows 8 PRO operating system. Not too mention that you can’t purchase the RT version, this is specifically for hardware vendors to install on these special devices. After October 26th you can get the Windows 8 Upgrade for I believe $15 bucks.

      Cameron

  3. David
    October 28, 2012 at 4:20 pm

    Thanks for your documentation of hp slate and n-trig disaster. I am in process of re-upgrading from W7 because multi-touch disappeared after I stupidly uninstalled the w7 bits. On this reload, setup assistant demanded I uninstall ntrig before install could continue (this did NOT) happen the first time) – I fear I wasted countless hours today AND $15 on this.

    I’m going to try installing the quick launch sp from HP before the beta drivers on ntrig site.

    • October 28, 2012 at 5:00 pm

      I hope it goes better for you on the reload/upgrade.

      Cameron

      • David
        October 30, 2012 at 3:34 pm

        Total reinstall w7 and upgrade (then backup – hard lesson learned) was all that worked. Ntrig won’t fix this because the hardware is old – likely got good deal$ from mfrs to not develop so people will buy new devices, even though slate is faster on w8 than it was on 7

      • David
        October 10, 2013 at 3:50 pm

        Cameron – came back to say thanks, again, for your HP slate 500 posts; 8.1 RTM is better on HP slate than 8, although ntrig requires you to step back to W7 then to 8.1 – lack of support from ntrig will likely make this the only device I ever own with their hardware – Cheers!

        David

      • October 10, 2013 at 4:19 pm

        Couldn’t agree with you more. That will be my last N-trig device.

        Have you moved to another device? I have converted to being a Surface Pro at work (for about a month). Love it so far. Beats lugging Dell Lat E6420 around.

        Take care.
        Cameron

      • David
        October 13, 2013 at 7:04 am

        Cameron – no, Slate does what it needs on infrequent business trips. I’ll wait until it dies again (2012 ssd failure on a refurb I bought in 2009) to shop – thx for the tip, though.

        Cheers,
        David

  4. Sud
    October 28, 2012 at 7:50 pm

    Folks, I need help. I just loaded win 8 pro on hp slate 500. Did not upgrade the firmware or whatever needed for n-trig pen before the upgrading the OS. Now the touch works on my upgraded tablet but it won’t recognize the pen. Tried installing the latest drivers from n-trig website but no use. Can someone help me pls and provide me the steps in layman English, if at all i can make the pen work, i do not want to roll it back to win 7 for whatever reason. I owe you a beer if you live in Chicago for your help.

    Sud

    • October 29, 2012 at 2:21 pm

      Sorry dude, wish I could help. Even with the Win 7 firmware installed before upgrading to Windows 8, I was never able to get the pen to work correctly. That said, the pen was recognised, just did not work well enough to take notes (too much lag etc.).

      Hope your problem gets fixed.

  5. November 4, 2012 at 9:06 am

    I love reading your articles, N-trig digitizer on my HP Slate 500 (Windows 8 RTM) Cameron Mergel was included in my favorites in firefox.

    • November 10, 2012 at 11:33 am

      Thanks Franklyn

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

