Home > 2012, ASUS B121, Microsoft, Windows 8 RTM > Installing Windows 8 RTM on Asus B121 Part 2

Installing Windows 8 RTM on Asus B121 Part 2

In my previous post I installed Windows 8 RTM on the Asus B121. Now I am going to continue where we left off and install any missing drivers.

Open Device Manager to see what is missing.

1. From the new Windows 8 Start Screen, click on the Desktop icon.
2. Right click on the desktop and select Personalize.
3. Click the link in the upper left named “Change desktop icons”
4. Put a check under Control Panel and click Apply and then OK.
5. Double click Control Panel
6. Click on the the Hardware and Sound link.
7. Under Devices and Printers click on Device Manager.

This is a list of the drivers that Windows is unable to find.

Device Manager (2012-08-18)

After connecting to my home network and configuring Windows Update these missing devices were resolved.  Also note that the hardware buttons and screen rotation work great.

After the Windows Update I do see one additional missing device, as there was in the prior Windows 8 Release Preview, but installing the Asus B121 Bluetooth driver does not resolve. 

Device Manager (Missing Device)

Still investigating…

 

Other Tips and Tricks:
Be sure to disable Defrag here.
New Windows 8 Shortcut Keys here.
Who needs a Start Button here.

  1. August 18, 2012 at 2:48 pm

    Hi there… Thanks for the update… I am also still trying to figure that Bluetooth issue…

    • August 18, 2012 at 8:58 pm

      So far Bluetooth is working for me, but I can’t seem to get rid of the missing bt device. Let me know if you find something.

      thanks.
      Cameron

  2. August 18, 2012 at 4:30 pm

    Hi there… a brilliant Sunday morning here…

    Amazingly I got the bluetooth to work. I actually backed up the drivers with DoubleDriver previously from the previous W8 iteration, and restored it.

    It was not successful initially, but when I used your method to update all the drivers via Windows update, it miraculously worked.

    So Asus B121 is indeed totally compatible with Windows 8. Boy this is way better than Surface with a larger screen… albeit the battery life is a tad sucky.

    Thanks for the heads up my friend

    • August 18, 2012 at 8:59 pm

      Yeah, I love the B121, except for the battery life. It’s a Stinker…

  3. August 18, 2012 at 9:55 pm

    Hi there…

    Yeah, it belongs to a genre of almost perfected device.

    The Home button is actually the start button, gosh… it is splendid…

    Thanks to your tips… was trying to figure last night : D

  4. August 18, 2012 at 10:48 pm

    Oh by the way, issues pertaining to the Intel HD graphics driver.

    Looks like Intel never release any new drivers for Windows 7 since 2010. There are many times when video projected on screen, the visual and audio are not synced.

    I tried the “Windows To Go” function on an external HDD, it works brilliantly too. Now just figuring if I can get a fast enough USB 3 thumb drive to do the deed.

    See you

  5. Peter Dornauer
    August 23, 2012 at 7:14 am

    Hi,

    thx for your interesting blog article. I have installed the final Win8 Enterprise-N on my Asus-B-121 Slate and i’m very excited about that. Win8 on a Slate works like a charm.
    But i have a question…maybe you can help me ?
    With the drivers…..i have installed now the latest Bios (502) and have run Windows Update -> but i got only a new Windows Defender. In the Drivers the Asus G Sensor could not be started. I read a lot on Google and the help is to insall the 701 Bios…..lol….for the Asus B-121 there is only 502 available.
    I downloaded most of the Win7 driver from the Asus Website, but i do not know which of the are better then the already installed drivers via Win8.
    How have you solved this issue ??
    THX for any help, Peter

    • August 23, 2012 at 8:56 am

      Hey Peter thanks for the kinds words. Yeah, totally agree Windows 8 on the B121 Slate Rocks.

      BIOS 502 is the latest update and there is no comparable BIOS update like the 701 for the EP121. I checked with their Support and there are no plans to either. Not sure that I understand that the business class of this slate doesn’t have the same update that the EP121 has. Crazy! With that said you should automatically get an update that updates the G-Sensor and the hardware keys automatically. They should automatically show up as optional updates. I did not install the ASUS Hot Key or G-Sensor drivers, I just had windows do it through the update.

      Can you check the Windows Update history to verify, you should see two ASUS updates if Windows Update has installed them. Also, if you haven’t tried you may want to go into the Control Panel and launch Windows Update from there. Be sure to enable the additional updates.

      Cameron

  6. Luke Bushell
    November 10, 2012 at 8:55 am

    hi,im looking to buy an asus slate but am not sure what model to for; the ep121 or b121. id prefer the b121 but as i have been reading there is issues with upgrading to windows 8 concerning the G-sensor. Cameron, did you say it is still a fixable issue without the 701/704 bios for the ep121 not being available for the b121?

    • November 10, 2012 at 11:41 am

      Luke,
      I have had both. I purposely got the B121 for the TPM, but currently not using it. There are very few differences between them so i would go for secondary price. The SSD and Wireless/BT card can also be upgraded fairly easy.

      All my hw buttons and G-Sensor work for me and this is without any hacks, Windows updates. I absolutely love W8 on my B121. My only complaint is the battery life.

      Good luck with your decision. Let me know what you end up getting. With all the new stuff coming out you should be able to get either for a real good deal..

      Cameron

      • Luke Bushell
        November 10, 2012 at 12:17 pm

        So did you just install it normally without updating the BIOs or anything? So if it was up to you which one would you go for, the b121/ep121?
        Also what new devices coming out could you recommend?
        Thanks for the reply

      • November 10, 2012 at 3:24 pm

        Luke,

        I am currently running version 502, I haven’t updated to the latest BIOS update. This was a straight fresh install of W8 with a few of the B121 drivers (before the W8 drivers were released) and with Windows Updates it all just works. Great device and works great with W8.

        I think at this point, I would probably go for a EP121 because you will find it cheaper than the B121. Really matter of choice.

        I am mainly looking for one that has the built in Keyboard clamshell. The ability to slide the keyboard in and have it act just like a netbook/laptop with touchpad. That is important to me this time around. I have my eye on the new Samsung 700T at the moment. Looks like a Samsung Series 7 Slate upgrade. I think I will also stay away from the Atom processors at the moment and focus on i3 or i5. Until I read more about them and their performance. The battery life seems great with these, that may sway me. So really, I am open…

        Cameron

      • Peter
        November 12, 2012 at 5:39 am

        Hi,

        i bought before 4 month an Asus B-121 and i got my system with Win8 Preview never to run like Cameron. But now with the new Bios and Drivers and the original Win8 -> everything works like a charm. Even the Buttons, G-Sensor, VolumeControl etc.
        It’s a great device……i love it
        Only one major downgrade……the weight and the battery-life, but don’t forget you get an i5 PC

        The TPM-Module i’m not using, so i would probably go with the EP-121, It should be cheaper too.

        Maybe (when you can hold it long enough) the big Surface from MS is an alternative, because of the keyboard in the case.

        My opinion is MS has done a good job and i love my touchy PC :-).

        All the Best from Vienna

        Peter

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

