Home > 2012, Gadgets and Tools, HP Slate 500, N-trig, Windows 8 > Updated Windows 8 N-trig drivers are finally available or are they?

Updated Windows 8 N-trig drivers are finally available or are they?

So N-trig finally posted Windows 8 drivers on their site (August 13th, 2012), you can download them here.

http://www.ntrig.com/Content.aspx?Page=Downloads_Drivers

So I have been very critical with my comments toward N-trig and most of it has been warranted.

Time to climb up on my soapbox.

My biggest beef all along has been the lack of input control.  The ability to control the how the digitizer handles touch and pen.  In the Windows 7 there was the N-trig DuoSense Digitizer Settings that allowed you to control the Input mode (Pen Only, Touch Only, Auto Mode, and Dual Mode), this has been lacking since Windows 8 Consumer Preview (February 2012).  Still missing…

N-trig DuoSense Digitizer Setttings

Brief history.

Windows 8 Developer Preview (September 13th, 2011)

There was a hack that could be followed that you could install the N-trig drivers, the DuoSense Settings, and Calibration tool and input control.

Windows 8 Consumer Preview (February 29th, 2012)

The hack no longer works and the digitizer and touch had serious issues.  Ghost clicking and touch issues.

UPDATE:

N-trig did finally put out a beta v1.0 (March 3, 2012), but they didn’t really help.

Windows 8 Release Preview (June 28th, 2012)

The hack still doesn’t work and the digitizer and touch still have issues.

Windows 8 RTM (August 1st, 2012)

The hack still doesn’t work and the digitizer and touch still have issues.

UPDATE:

N-trig did finally put out beta v2.0 (August 13th, 2012).  They included the calibration tool, which does seem to help with the ghost clicking, however it is still missing the DuoSense Digitizer Settings.  UGH!!!

NOTE:

Did you all notice the wording in their install instructions.  Look at step 1 on page 2.  Some interesting wording.

N-trig Install Instructions v2

So I read this as you can’t install these on a fresh Windows 8 Install, that it has to be a Windows 7 upgrade to Windows 8.  So I emailed support to clarify this and they replied back that it was true that you needed to be on Windows 7 to ensure the latest DuoSense Software was installed and then upgrade to Windows 8.  Once on Windows 8 you can follow the instructions in the v2 beta drivers.

Seriously, come on N-trig, you’ve had over 6 months to be working on these drivers to make them compatible with Windows 8.  Your latest v2 beta try is flail at best.

I feel for any computer manufacture that is producing a Windows 8 Slate/Tablet with these N-trig drivers.  Beware!  I sure won’t be purchasing another N-trig device…  No way!!!

I suggest that you email their support [esupport@n-trig.com] and voice your displeasure on the lack of functionality with these drivers.  In my opinion the HP Slate 500 is unusable in Windows 8.  The palm rejection and false touches when writing are horrendous.

Ok, stepping down from my soapbox.

Questions:

What do you think?

Are you happy with these updated drivers?

Did you upgrade to Windows 8 or fresh Install?

Did you use the DuoSense Digital Settings in Windows 7 and Windows 8 Developers Preview?

Do you have issues with false touch when writing?

 

UPDATE (2015-12-09):

N-trig downloads are not longer available.  I have had multiple requests for the download.  I have the Windows 8 x86 version of the driver that I got originally for the HP Slate 500.  If you need them add a comment with your email address and I will send them to you.

  1. Keith Nicholson
    August 23, 2012 at 5:09 am

    I goofed and and upgraded Win 8 from the RP. Now the stylus does not work at all. I’ll be contacting them.

    • August 23, 2012 at 5:23 am

      Yuck! Try reinstalling the N-trig drivers or try going into the Device Manager and uninstalling/removing the N-trig devices and then reinstall N-trig.

  2. michael
    September 12, 2012 at 2:19 pm

    I am using a Dell Latitude XT2 and got the same problem. As a workaround to use “pen only” or “pen and multitouch” it is possible to disable “N-trig DuoSense MultiTouch HID device” in the device manager. Disabled = pen only, enabled = pen and multitouch.
    With the tool devcon.exe (comand line device manager) you could create two batch files with the devide instance id (“Geräteinstanzpfad” in german).
    E.g.:
    devcon.exe disable “@HID\VID_1B69&PID_0001&MI_01&COL02\7&6CEE321&0&0001”
    devcon.exe enable “@HID\VID_1B69&PID_0001&MI_01&COL02\7&6CEE321&0&0001”
    You have to run that cmd with admin rights.
    I know, it is not very comfortable, but now you could use the pen without interupting touch inputs because of your hand.
    (sorry for my bad english)

    • November 12, 2012 at 7:47 pm

      Michael,
      I just blogged about something similar to this. Great stuff…
      Thanks.
      Cameron

  3. AR
    October 24, 2012 at 4:35 pm

    I just upgraded from W7 Pro to W8 Pro and installed the latest beta drivers (per instructions in the pdf bundled with the download). Result is single-touch only with ZERO pen input/features. No Pen drivers are installed; rebooting doesn’t make a difference. Did the new beta driver actually regress from what this blog and others reported or is it the W8 release that’s causing the issue. At least you pioneers had some PEN functionality, I get nothing.

    • October 28, 2012 at 2:36 pm

      AR,

      Hmm. I upgraded as well. I did not have touch or pen after the upgrade, but after install the W8 N-trig drivers I did get touch and pen back. Maybe try, reinstalling. If that doesn’t work I would go into the device manager and may uninstall the N-trig drivers and then reinstall. Be sure to backup your system before trying so you can get back to at a specific point.

      Good luck. I wish I could give you more solid advice.

      Cameron

  4. RIchard Green
    October 27, 2012 at 1:02 am

    Well, Windows 8 is officially out now, Dell released some new drivers yesterday, anyone tried them yet? There is still suggestion on the Dell site that N-Trig are supporting the touch drivers still, but sadly the N-Trig site is still only showing the v2 Beta

    • October 28, 2012 at 2:38 pm

      Richard,

      Yeah, I see that Dell released W8 drivers for my work laptop (E6420). Looking a little closely they are the same W7 drivers, but it is a start. I have not heard any rumors about N-trig releasing any new drivers.

      Cameron

  5. Cliff
    December 11, 2012 at 3:08 pm

    N-Trig pitches to be such a great/ leading touch company, yet they STILL don’t really support the biggest thing to hit the Touch market. I chose a Dell XT3 back in Feb anticipating W8… I’m still on W7… last time I buy anything N-Trig.

    • December 11, 2012 at 7:23 pm

      Cliff,

      Totally agree. I have reverted back to W7 on the device. I won’t be spending my dollars on anything with N-trig.

      Cameron

  6. Zachy
    February 13, 2013 at 1:23 pm

    Hi guys, any news regarding N-Trig W8 touch drivers ? My W8 Pro 64bit works with pen, but not with touch ….

    • February 13, 2013 at 6:09 pm

      I haven’t heard anything and N-trig hasn’t replied to any of my emails. Typical…

  7. David
    February 15, 2013 at 3:00 pm

    Thanks for this thread – been having random ghost clicks in the upper left making Win8 Pro on my XT3 between unusable to annoying. I needed to do a fresh install and not the upgrade. So disappointed in N-trig’s lack of support or concern with the issues.

  8. Jason De Mio
    April 1, 2013 at 2:30 pm

    I did a fresh install on a dell latitude xt2 xfr of win 8 pro and got single touch and pen working but no multi touch. Email ntrig support several times with no response at all. Getting really frustrated since win 8 been out a year now and no updated drivers for multi touch. This is ridiculous because win 7 drivers are not compatible with windows 8. Someone needs to fix this soon.

    • April 10, 2013 at 5:02 am

      Unusable in my opinion. Have gone back to W7 on HP Slate.

  9. Jorj X McKie
    May 28, 2013 at 6:42 pm

    May 2013 now and nothing. I love my N-Trig packing Sony Duo 11, but there’s nothing lovable about N-Trig’s track record. The stylus works very well with art apps that support it (Artrage and Sketchbook Pro) but useless for the real tools like Photoshop, Illustrator, Painter, SAI.Twice since December 2012 someone from their tech support has promised updated drivers including Wintab support. I suppose it’s possible those N-Competents aren’t lying, hoping we will all just shut up and go away. Just about anything is possible.

    • May 28, 2013 at 7:12 pm

      Yeah, their commitment to Windows 8 is a bit of joke.

  10. zyfung
    April 19, 2014 at 6:29 am

    yaer later still the same crap for my dell xps l502x
    no support from n-trig now dell
    actualy dell look relly bad on that one. cuz 2 years and a half later they sill not have it fix hehe

  11. frank
    May 30, 2014 at 5:37 am

    any thing yet for hp tx2?

    • September 23, 2014 at 5:37 pm

      No, they have dropped support of that version of N-trig on W8. Their new version that is on the Surface Pro 3 does.

      I can confirm that N-trig on the Surface is night and day from prior version. I told myself on many occasions never N-trig again, but I have been impressed so far with it on the SP3.

  12. Cyberkul
    June 1, 2014 at 2:30 am

    i have the same problem with win 8.1pro, but if you boot the win8.1 stick or dvd
    the touch sreen works – i think there was a working driver in the pe-iso.

  13. Marty
    October 9, 2015 at 7:13 pm

    I had been thinking about trying Windows 10 on My XT2, but I expect I’d lose touch and pen support, which would suck… Since Microsoft has purchased N-trig, I was hoping they might be able to provide some help here, but I’m not expecting too much…Old N-trig support site is completely offline…

    Cameron, Do you still have your XT2? Did you happen to keep copies of the last version of the drivers for Windows7 (needed for upgrade to 8 beta drivers) and the Last Beta version they had out for Windows 8? I’m having a hard time locating these online…I found a version of Win7 drivers that got my 4-point touch working right…but have no idea if it was the latest version for Windows7.

    Let me know.
    Thanks!
    Marty

    • October 10, 2015 at 3:39 pm

      I am looking through all my archives. I’ll email you what I have.

  14. Luckymentrix
    November 3, 2015 at 11:55 am

    Hi, im looking also for the latest version of the drivers. This article helped me before with W8 and my Dell XPS15 (l502x) im hoping those drivers also work with W10. Can you mail me them? Thanks in advance

    • December 8, 2015 at 7:52 am

      I emailed them to you.

  15. vanilla
    November 22, 2015 at 9:10 am

    http://www.dell.com/support/home/us/en/19/Drivers/DriversDetails?driverId=R253240
    N-Trig Multi-Touch Digitizer, v.2.239, A02 (for 32-bit win7 but may work with 8). I’ll let you know if/when I find a 64-bit driver.

    • December 8, 2015 at 7:52 am

      I emailed you what I had from 2012.

  16. joe
    December 4, 2015 at 11:17 pm

    i need the drivers also. seems the ntrig windows 8 drivers are nowhere to be found.

    • December 8, 2015 at 7:50 am

      Send me your email and I will email them to you. The email in your comment came back undelivered.

      Cameron

  17. Andrew S
    December 27, 2015 at 6:06 pm

    I also need the drivers. Could you email them to me? Much appreciated. 🙂

  18. Andrew S
    December 28, 2015 at 12:05 am

    Hi, sorry but I don’t know if my last message got through so could you email me the drivers? Thanks heaps!

    • December 28, 2015 at 11:36 am

      sent you email with link to download.

      • Andrew S
        December 29, 2015 at 3:48 am

        Thanks heaps! Much appreciated.

  19. Greg
    January 7, 2016 at 4:15 am

    Hi,
    I need those drivers really bad 😦 Could you send me an email with link to them?
    I will be grateful.

  20. January 20, 2016 at 10:39 am

    Please send me a link to the Windows 8 drivers. I want to try them on a Dell XT3. TIA!

  21. January 20, 2016 at 11:10 am

    Cameron, please send me a link to the Win 8 beta drivers. I need to test on a Dell XT3…

  22. Rob
    March 26, 2016 at 4:51 pm

    I need them please

    • April 4, 2016 at 7:32 am

      Rob, I sent an email with the link to the driver (x86). I don’t have the x64 version.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

