Home > 2012, Microsoft, Windows 8 RTM > Windows 8 RTM is now available on MSDN and TechNet subscribers

Windows 8 RTM is now available on MSDN and TechNet subscribers

Today Microsoft released Windows 8 RTM to those who are subscribers to MSDN and TechNet.

If you feel left out don’t.  You can download a full Windows 8 RTM Evaluation edition that is good for 90 days.  Allow you to install on your desktop, laptop, or tablet and start playing with it until the full release to public in October.

Download it here:

http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-US/evalcenter/jj554510.aspx

 

UPDATE:

Information from the Software Evaluation email after registering on the website.

  • You cannot upgrade from the EVAL
  • No product key is required to install
  • You have 10 days after installing to activate it
  • Once activated you have 90 days to use it
Categories: 2012, Microsoft, Windows 8 RTM
  1. Bonnie
    August 15, 2012 at 12:38 pm

    How is this version different than the preview version I am running now?

    • August 15, 2012 at 12:49 pm

      Bonnie, all the other previous W8 builds (Developers Preview, Consumer Preview, and Release Preview) are all beta versions. This is the Golden “Released to Manufacturing” release public version that will be put on all desktops, laptops, and tablets in the coming months. This is just an EVAL of the RTM, same version as the full RTM, but only good for 90 days.

  2. Bonnie
    August 15, 2012 at 12:47 pm

    Cameron, I have another question for you. On my HP Slate 500 I partitioned the harddrive so that on one half I have Windows 7 and on the other I have the Preview version of Windows 8. I would like to eliminate the partition and windows 7 (I realize I need to contact the software people about my licensing on some of my programs I am wiping out) When do you recommend I do this? With this 90 days Windows 8 RTM version or when the full version comes out in October? I do that with a clean and full install, right? It will give me an option to set my slate back to one hard drive with no partitions?

    • August 16, 2012 at 7:42 pm

      Bonnie,

      Or you could just upgrade from Windows 7 to 8. I am usually not a proponent of upgrading, but it is an alternative. That way you may not need to reinstall some of your software.

      When you install you should be able to tell it what partition you want to install it on and/or remove the un-needed partition. Be sure that you do a Windows Image Backup of your Windows 7 so you can always get back to where your live system is.

      In my current testing of the N-trig I have restored my original HP Slate 500 image from March of 2011 (Glad I still had it). Trying the upgrade route from W7 to W8.

      • Bonnie
        August 16, 2012 at 9:48 pm

        Let me know how your upgrade goes – I think I want to wait till you try it first. How do I make an image copy and where do I store it?

      • Bonnie M. Harris, Ph.D.
        August 29, 2012 at 11:50 pm

        Hi Cameron

        I installed the Win 8 RTM on my Slate 500 but I have to change the screen resolution for the apps to work and I can’t remember how to do that and I can’t find your prior instructions for that. Can you help me?

        Bonnie M. Harris, Ph.D. Professor of History

      • August 30, 2012 at 6:59 pm

        Bonnie,

        You should be able to right click on the desktop and select Screen Resolution and change it there.

        Cameron

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

