Home > 2012, HP Slate 500 > Windows 8 CP N-trig drivers are available for HP Slate 500

Windows 8 CP N-trig drivers are available for HP Slate 500

http://www.n-trig.com/Content.aspx?Page=support_home

Excited to try them out.

Categories: 2012, HP Slate 500 Tags:
  1. John
    April 6, 2012 at 7:00 am

    I have updated the N-trig driver directly from the website, but I am still having uncontrolable ghost tapping does anyone know whats up with this?

    • April 7, 2012 at 12:45 pm

      John, I haven’t had a chance to try out the new drivers. I have been away since its release. I will be reloading W8CP as soon as I get back.
      Cameron

    • Bonnie Harris
      June 1, 2012 at 11:48 am

      John,

      I just installed the new Win 8 Early Release version and did all the driver stuff and the n-trig and now I am getting the ghost tapping that I hadn’t had before – did you ever figure out what it was?

      • June 1, 2012 at 7:11 pm

        Bonnie, you could try to uninstall the n-trig drivers and then reinstall them.

  2. Bonnie Harris
    May 29, 2012 at 1:24 pm

    Please help! Your blog has been invaluable to me in installing Windows 8 CP on my HP SLate 500 with all the drivers but I installed the n-trig drivers from Intel and now I have NO TOUCH SCREEN response at all. I don’t know how to reverse this as I have no maneuverability in the program..

    • May 29, 2012 at 7:01 pm

      Bonnie,
      Can you connect a mouse to it and go into device mgr. And uninstall the n-trig driver?
      Cameron

  3. Bonnie Harris
    May 29, 2012 at 9:00 pm

    Hi Cameron,

    I was able to connect a portable keyboard and I actually went in and did a Refresh PC and then reloaded the drivers as you outlined and stayed away from the n-trig update. The Metros are working (sort of) and the screen rotation is working. The Video App is not playing any of the trailer videos – haven’t googled that problem yet. I am so grateful for your blogs on the HP Slate 500 – I could not have gotten this far without them. I do have one issue maybe you can advise me on? I have a 64 gig harddrive on my slate and I partitioned the harddrive because I needed to keep windows 7 so I have a two-headed tablet with Win 7 and Win 8 CP. However, when I turn the tablet on and it calls up an entry screen where it gives me a choice to either boot with Win 8 or Win 7 the touch screen doesn’t work for me to choose either so I have to wait for the timer to run out and let it automatically boot with Win 8. If I have the keyboard plugged into the tablet I can toggle between them with my arrow keys and enter on one but the touch screen doesn’t work until after it boots. Any ideas?

    • May 30, 2012 at 6:51 pm

      Bonnie,
      I haven’t tried the dual boot with the HP Slate. I tried the Native VHD Boot with the EP121 and the touch worked to select what to boot into, but that is a Wacom touch driver. Not sure how to fix the screen selection on the HP Slate. This might be N-trig touch issue… Can you use the volume rocker key or any of the other buttons to make a selection?

      You can change the default OS and the timer by going into the Properties of Computer, go into Advanced System Systems, then Startup and Recovery select Settings.

      Cameron

  4. Bonnie Harris
    May 31, 2012 at 9:09 am

    I did discover that the volume key (-) allowed me to touch screen select between the two boot options. I also discovered that it may not have been the n-trig driver that froze me up before but rather a program I run on Win 7 that was incompatible on Win 8 = PC tools Registry Mechanic. So I have not tried installing the N-trig driver again. I do not have the dual touch option where I can pinch my fingers to shrink the screen or do the reverse to enlarge the screen. Is this the N-trig driver? I figure I will have to load that driver again and see what happens – I can refresh this pc with my eyes closed I have done it so often now.

  5. Bonnie Harris
    May 31, 2012 at 9:30 am

    YAY!! The n-trig installed and I have my duo-touch working. Now onto my next challenge –> I cannot get any video playback in the Metro Video App to work.

  6. c
    August 16, 2012 at 5:23 pm

    There are new drivers out from NTRIG. Version 2.0 as of august 13 2012
    Anybody tried them is thjat working now? ghosttapping?

    • August 16, 2012 at 5:58 pm

      Yes, saw that they were released. They seem to help with the ghost tapping. There is a touch calibration tool that seems to help. However it is still missing the DuoSense Input control that allows you to change the input mode (Pen Only, Touch Only, Auto Mode, and Dual Mode). This is a big hole if you ask me.

  7. c
    August 16, 2012 at 6:50 pm

    Cant you desactivate the multitouch in the device manager?
    Even if it compliceted…. maybe one can programm a shortcut or sth
    I will wait some days before switching to W8, please let me know if the ghosttapping reoccurs or any other problem with the driver
    THX

    • August 16, 2012 at 7:45 pm

      If you do that you will lose touch and pen. Kind of a catch 22. Bottom line, N-trig really needs to come up with a way to be compatible with W8. Makes me wonder how they are going to support Computer manufactures like HP and Dell with the W8. The current driver release on W8 RTM is no where close to where it should be. Shame on N-trig…

  8. c
    September 7, 2012 at 7:40 pm

    does hibernation work for U?
    seems i only have sleep mode on nmine
    how to get hibernation work?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

