Home > HP Slate 500, Pet Peeves, Windows 8 Consumer Preview > Time for N-trig to step up and get some W8 drivers out!

Time for N-trig to step up and get some W8 drivers out!

I understand that it is a bit much to ask a vendor to get drivers out for a beta product, but I feel this is a bit different in the fact that Windows 8 is really being pushed as this Touch Friendly operating system.

I hope that software vendors such as Microsoft and computer vendors such as HP, Asus, Samsung, and other start pressuring part vendors such as N-trig to get some updated drivers out to the public.  I think Microsoft has lots to lose and it is trickle down economics…

N-trig Press Release

According to N-trig in an earlier press release in January 2012 they state their commitment to Windows 8.  Well in my opinion it is time for them to get some W8 beta drivers out to their consumers.

http://www.n-trig.com/Content.aspx?Page=PressReleases&PressReleaseId=793

Contact their Support

Help the cause.  Shoot them a quick note requesting some W8 drivers and that we as consumers are wanting to actually use their product.  I mean seriously, they have had plenty of time; the HP Slate hasn’t had updated N-trig drivers since November 2010. Ouch!

http://www.n-trig.com/Content.aspx?Page=ContactUs_support

UPDATE (03/13/2012):

This is the response I got back from N-trig today from my email on March 3rd.  Nice canned response.  3 weeks development converted into real world time is approximately 2 months. Smile

N-trig Response

As of 03/28/2012 N-trig has release Windows 8 drivers.  They are still pretty weak, but it’s a start.

  1. so sure
    March 5, 2012 at 12:57 am

    FWIW I contacted their tech support directly and they told me it is well under way and will be completed in about 2 weeks. They said that it would be posted at n-trig.com when it is done.

    • March 5, 2012 at 5:32 am

      Thanks for the info. I too have contacted their support (by email), but haven’t heard a response back. I am hoping your are correct. However 2 weeks software development time converted into real time is +1 month. 🙂

  2. robert
    March 8, 2012 at 10:26 am

    Does anyone know how I can disable the touchscreen on the Slate with Windows 8. I installed it and it has become useless now with all the ramdom tapping it does by itself. Can I just disable it and use with mouse and keyboard?

    • March 8, 2012 at 12:50 pm

      I am experiencing the same thing that you are reporting. Have you tried going into the Computer Management – Device Manager and uninstall the N-trig/DuoSense? I believe this will get in a semi working condition.

      In my opinion, until N-Trig comes up with W8CP drivers the HP Slate is unusable to me.

  3. Jim
    March 11, 2012 at 7:24 pm

    robert :
    Does anyone know how I can disable the touchscreen on the Slate with Windows 8. I installed it and it has become useless now with all the ramdom tapping it does by itself. Can I just disable it and use with mouse and keyboard?

    Yes, Robert. If you plug it into the dock, and assign BT keyboard and mouse, it operates like any other Windows computer. This the only way I can operate it reliably now, out of the dock, the ghost taps render it useless. Can’t wait for the new ntrig drivers…hope they help

  4. Vala
    June 3, 2012 at 5:03 am

    If I install the release preview on my HP Slate will I be able to use the “Touch” feature? The only thing I will be missing is the Stylus (Ntrig)? or anything else?

    • June 3, 2012 at 11:45 am

      Vala,
      Well, the Windows 8 N-trig drivers are really lacking. They will install, you will get not compatible messages in Device Manager, you will not get Pen Calibration, however you will get touch.

      I am really hoping to see an update from N-trig with a better effort. I would highly recommend that you shoot them an email from the support page requesting an update.

      http://www.n-trig.com/Content.aspx?Page=ContactUs_support

      Thanks.
      Cameron

  1. March 5, 2012 at 5:39 am

Leave a Reply

