Home > 2012, HP Slate 500, Windows 8 Consumer Preview > Installing Windows 8 CP on HP Slate 500 part 2

Installing Windows 8 CP on HP Slate 500 part 2

In my previous post we installed Windows 8 Consumer Preview on the HP Slate 500. Now we are going to continue where we left off and install drivers.

The first thing after installing is to configure the wireless and connect to your home network. Run Windows Updates and get the latest Windows 8 DP updates. As of 03/02/2012 these are the the specific Windows 8 CP Updates (4).

W8SLATE Windows 8 CP Updates

Now let’s look at is the Device Manager to see what drivers we are missing.

1. Click on Control Panel Tile and scroll down the list and select More Settings.
2. Click on the the Hardware and Sound link.
3. Under Devices and Printers click on Device Manager.
4. Click on

This is a list of the drivers that Windows is unable to find.

W8SLATE Device Mgr Missing Devices (2012-02-29)

4. Create a folder on the root of your C Drive named SWSETUP. Go out to HP’s site (here) and download the following drivers to C:\SWSETUP. This is also the order that I install the drivers.

SP50501 – Broadcom Crystal HD Video Decoder Driver (2010-10-22) [DM]
SP50503 – Intel Chipset Installation Utility and Driver (2010-10-22)
SP50504 – Intel High-Definition (HD) Graphics Driver (2010-10-22)
SP53663 – Broadcom Wireless LAN Driver for Microsoft Windows 7 (2011-06-27)
SP51650 – HP Quick Launch Software (2011-01-24) [SEE INSTALLATION NOTE BELOW]

[DM] = These are the specific drivers that will resolve the missing drivers above.

When I say to install in W7 Compatibility mode = To install these drivers you will need to right click on the file, select Properties, click on the Compatibility tab. Put a check in the Compatibility Mode (Select Windows 7), Click ok and then double click on the file to install.

NOTE there are two drivers above (51650) that will need special installation steps to get installed and configured, so follow the instructions below for installing those drivers.

SP51650 – HP Quick Launch Software (To get the Auto rotate to work)
Before installing, from the Windows 8 Tile Main Menu click on Control Panel and select Uninstall a Program and then select “Turn Windows features on or off”. Put a check in “Microsoft .NET Framework 3.5.1” and click OK. This will also connect to Windows Update to install software. Then execute SP51650 (in W7 Compatibility mode). Once completed browse out to “C:\Program Files\Hewlett Packard\HP Quick Launch”, and execute HPWMISVC.EXE (in W7 Compatibility mode).

NOTE: Looks like there are N-trig/DuoSense issues.  I can’t seem to get this configured correctly.  As soon as I get more information I will post.

UPDATE: It looks like the HP Slate 500 is not along in having N-trig issues.  It looks like the workaround in W8DP is not working in W8CP.

Looks like we may need to contact the vendor to get some W8 drivers.  See here.  Shoot them a quick note requesting updated drivers.

  1. Ari Suominen
    March 4, 2012 at 10:09 pm

    Got any closer to finding out the fix? 🙂

    • March 5, 2012 at 5:41 am

      Ari, no closer. I updated blog to include a link to their support page where you can contact their support. I highly recommend that you shoot them a quick note requesting updated drivers. I think this is the only way to get this resolved. I will keep my eyes out for a solution and if/when I do I will be sure to post.

  2. Robert
    March 12, 2012 at 2:12 pm

    I am having a problem where the I cannot view any type of video in metro. Do you know what that could be? I have uninstalled and reinstalled the graphics driver on the HP Slate, but no luck. The video app will not let me even view movie previews, The camera app will not let me see any video either. Have you ran into this or is it just me.

    • March 14, 2012 at 6:43 am

      Robert,
      Is this only happening when using the Metro App/Tiles? Do you have the screen resolution set to 1024×768? I am at work so I tried the Camera/Video Metro App on Dell Latitude ST Tablet (W8CP) and it is not working either, so that leads me to believe that it is a Metro type issue (1280×800).

      If I find something I will let you know.

      • Luis
        March 14, 2012 at 7:37 pm

        Hi Cameron

        Im having the same issue in the Slate 2, no video can be reproduced in any of the metro apps, when opening camera app screen remains in black (but if you touch the screen you can actually take a picture), I already installed the corresponding drivers and the resolution has been set 1280×768 but still no video…

      • March 14, 2012 at 8:02 pm

        Luis,
        Does the actual hp camera/video software work for you? I am thinking that it is actually a Metro type issue.

      • Luis
        March 15, 2012 at 7:14 am

        Yes it also works over win8, If i use the camera with the original software (the one in the driver’s CD) I’m able to take pictures and video, I also installed a legacy version of WindowsMedia and I was able to see video thru this aplication but the new windowsMedia is still not working, I’m also thinking this is something related to Metro, but just wondering if you had the same video issues when you installed win8 in the Slate 500?

  3. rleads
    April 4, 2012 at 4:56 am

    Has anyone had any issues with the “cut the rope” and the “kindle” app running? Seems like I remember cut the rope ran fine when W8CP was released but now nothing.

    • April 6, 2012 at 4:21 am

      Rleads,

      To be honest I haven’t tried either of those apps. Have you tried the Microsoft Windows 8 forum to see if there are any reported problems? I don’t have url handy at the moment, I am remote at the moment.

      Cameron

  4. Vala
    June 3, 2012 at 5:04 am

    If I install the release preview on my HP Slate will I be able to use the “Touch” feature? The only thing I will be missing is the Stylus (Ntrig)? or anything else?

    • June 3, 2012 at 11:45 am

      Vala,
      Well, the Windows 8 N-trig drivers are really lacking. They will install, you will get not compatible messages in Device Manager, you will not get Pen Calibration, however you will get touch.

      I am really hoping to see an update from N-trig with a better effort. I would highly recommend that you shoot them an email from the support page requesting an update.

      http://www.n-trig.com/Content.aspx?Page=ContactUs_support

      Thanks.
      Cameron

      • Vala
        June 3, 2012 at 12:38 pm

        Cameron,
        I did, I shot them an email before you say 🙂 Please make these clear:
        1) What do you mean by pen calibration? Does it mean I can’t use pen?
        2) How does the touch work compared to Windows 7?
        3) Is there anything I would be missing if I install Windows 8 RP?
        4) Have U tried Windows 8 RP on it?

        Thanx

      • June 3, 2012 at 6:02 pm

        Vala,

        Great. The more that email them the better.

        1. Pen Calibration. What I really meant to say was the touch or digitizer settings/calibration. N-trig has the utility that lets you change how the screen acts when you touch with your palm and pen (Pen Only, Touch Only, Auto Mode, Dual Mode). In Windows 8 the utility is not installed so there is no way to configure. It is in dual mode which can palm rejection). It is a annoying.
        2. I feel the touch is better in Windows 7 because of the N-trig digitizer settings/calibration.
        3. The lack of a fully operational touch control.
        4. I am installing it as I type. I have been playing around with my Asus B121 the last few days with W8RP.

        I will play around with W8RP on the HP Slate 500, but it isn’t my main machine so I can live without some of the things that aren’t quite working yet, like the N-trig. If this was my only machine, I would not leave W8 on it for long. I need the ability to configure the touch screen.

        I really hope that N-trig gets some drivers out.

        Cameron

  5. Christine
    November 13, 2012 at 12:36 pm

    Cameron,

    i’m doing the part that says:
    SP51650 – HP Quick Launch Software (To get the Auto rotate to work)
    Before installing, from the Windows 8 Tile Main Menu click on Control Panel and select Uninstall a Program and then select “Turn Windows features on or off”. Put a check in “Microsoft .NET Framework 3.5.1” and click OK. This will also connect to Windows Update to install software. Then execute SP51650 (in W7 Compatibility mode). Once completed browse out to “C:\Program Files\Hewlett Packard\HP Quick Launch”, and execute HPWMISVC.EXE (in W7 Compatibility mode).

    and i follow it exactly. When i get the the last part execute HPWMISVCE.exe nothing happens. and i am running it in W7 Mode….what is suppose to happen….

    • November 13, 2012 at 1:03 pm

      Christine,
      I don’t recall it doing anything. So after a restart it doesn’t work? Also, did you upgrade from Windows 7 or is this a fresh install of W8? With the problems with the Digitizer and N-trig I recommend upgrading from W7.

      Cameron

  6. Christine
    November 13, 2012 at 1:36 pm

    i did a fresh install….i was following your directions…then i read the updates….i’m really new to this device…my work gave it to me..so i’m not sure what the Digitizer and N-trig does right now…..thank you for your quick response…it actually started working after 4 times of running and rebooting….one more quick ?? when i am opening programs there is flickering going on….is that normal…i did put the resolution at 1024 x 768 instead of the 1024 x 600 because none of the apps would work

    • November 13, 2012 at 5:53 pm

      In one of the posts there is an update to the GMA500 video driver, this will help with the flickering.

  7. ryggs gill
    November 26, 2012 at 4:30 pm

    i am new to the hp slate 500 brought second hand, it has got the windows 8 demo installed, is it worth upgrading to full windows 8. I will use it for surfing and apps and games.

    Thanks in anticipation

    • November 27, 2012 at 10:20 am

      Ryggs,

      To be honest, I switched back to Windows 7 on the HP Slate. I use the slate primary with the stylus and the Windows 8 drivers for N-trig are so bad and the lack of input control, I moved back to W7. I think as a touch device it will work just fine on W8. YOu will have to changed the resolution to 1024×768 for the W8 tiles to work and this distorts the graphics. You can get around this by making the test and other items a bigger (in the Screen Resolution), but it still doesn’t look right and the viewing and some popup windows don’t view correctly. Touch is better in W8 though.

      Cameron

  8. ryggs gill
    November 26, 2012 at 4:38 pm

    i have looked on the n-trig website and the have updated drivers for windows 8 dated august 2012, are you aware of this and does this resolve the issues above???

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

