Home > 2012, Computers, HP Slate 500, Slate, Windows 8 Consumer Preview > Installing Windows 8 CP on HP Slate 500 part 1

Installing Windows 8 CP on HP Slate 500 part 1

I have been running the Windows 8 Developers Preview on my HP Slate 500 since November (see my blog post on it here and here).  I have been very happy with it during the last couple of months and it has been very stable to my surprise.  Since then I have been anticipating the follow up or update of Windows 8.

Yesterday I was following the #Windows8 twitter feed and the live blog of the event seeing photos of the event held at the Mobile World Congress 2012 event in Barcelona.  I am very curious why they choose that event and even more surprised that there was no live streaming of the event.  A big fat failure for Microsoft on that one.

Well it is officially released.  Time to get cracking…

Pre-Steps:

1. Download the Windows 8 Consumer Preview 32-bit here (2.5GB)

*Note: Be sure to grab the Product Key from the download page. Key is required for installation.

2. Create a bootable USB Stick.  Download Windows 7 USB/DVD download tool here.  This allows you to create a bootable USB stick with the downloaded iso file. This makes the process so easy. Click, click, walk away and boom, you have a bootable Windows 8 USB drive. I used a 8 GB USB stick that you can get for $10 at Walmart.  Note: A 4 GB will work for both 32-bit and 64-bit.

Install Process

1. Plug USB into HP Slate 500.  I have my Slate in the docking station so I have additional USB slots for my USB Mouse and Keyboard.

2. Power on the Slate.

3. Click “-“ to get into the Start Menu.

4. Click “-“ and select Boot Device and click the Home Button to select.

5. Click “-“ and select USB Stick and click the Home Button to select.

6. Go through the usual installation options.  I selected fresh Install (not an upgrade) and left all the other partition intact (SYSTEM and HP_TOOLS), I just installed over the primary partition.

2012-02-29_16-52-55_544

This is the lock screen.

2012-02-29_17-20-30_300

This is the main screen.

2012-02-29_17-08-37_973

In my next post I will go through getting drivers installed and configured.

  1. Hugo
    March 3, 2012 at 6:52 am

    I installed windows 8 CP, but after downloaded suggested critical patches, the touch screen stopped working properly. I suppose that is a drivers problems. I try the repair option of the driver (n-trig) but doesn’t works. Maybe you can give me a workaround.

    • March 3, 2012 at 9:43 am

      Hugo,
      I am also having issues with the touch. I can’t seem to get the N-trig drivers to install. They installed fine on the DP version though which is bit frustrating at the moment. I am in the process of resetting (reinstalling) W8 to start over. Get to a point that you try so many things that you really start screwing things up. I am hoping to have something out on the blog probably tomorrow. I hope it is good news.

  2. bluejay
    March 4, 2012 at 11:57 am

    same here. wondering if doing an upgraded install would keep drivers and avoid the installation issues? I got graphics drivers to work, but the ntrig driver just says something like the OS isn’t up to specification. The pen actually works, sortof – really really stuttery. so hoping to find a way to install ntrig driver and that will fix multitouch and pen.

  3. Steve
    March 4, 2012 at 4:56 pm

    Same experience with my Slate. Very disappointing.

    (Ironically, sent from my iPad)

    • March 4, 2012 at 8:20 pm

      Steve,
      Totally agree…

  1. March 3, 2012 at 8:14 pm

Leave a Reply

