Home > 2011, Computers, Gadgets and Tools, HP Tablet PC, Windows 8 Developer Preview > Installing Windows 8 DP on HP Tablet TC1100 part 2

Installing Windows 8 DP on HP Tablet TC1100 part 2

In previous post we installed Windows 8 Developers Preview on the HP Tablet TC1100.  Now we are going to continue where we left off and configure it.

Screen resolution

1. At the main start page / tiles click on Desktop.

2. Right click on the Desktop and select Screen Resolution.  Change the Resolution from 800×600 to 1024×768 and click Apply.  Then click keep changes.  Way better.

Device Manager (Let’s take a look at what we are missing)

1. From where we are click the Start button to take us back to the Tiles.

2. Click on the Control Panel Tile and scroll down the list to More Settings.

3. Click on Hardware and Sound.

4. Under Devices and Printers click on Device Manager.

W8DP Device Manager (TC1100) sm

Above is a view of what the Device Manager looks like and the missing items.

5. Recommend first hard wiring to your network and running Windows Update.  As of 10/17/2011 these were the following Windows Updates (specifically related to Windows).

TC1100 Windows Updates (2011-10-17) sm

If you can’t directly connect to Ethernet you will need to get your wireless driver (here).  I have had been experiencing a lot of problems getting the wireless working.  I tried the HP WLAN W500 and the Intel PRO 2100 3B.

If you have the HP Compaq W500 Compatible 802.11/a/b/g [Part #: 349985-001], you can install the following HP Driver after the OS has been installed.

SP32579 – HP WLAN W400-W500 Driver for Windows [2006-05]

If you have the HP Compaq Laptop Wireless 2100 802.11b Mini-PCI Card [Part #: 348997-001], you will have to manually connect computer to NETWORK with Ethernet and run Windows Update to get the Wireless working.

To determine which one you have you will need to unscrew one of the back covers and look at the HP Part Number.

This is the list of drivers that I installed and in that order.

SP27014 – NVIDIA Video Driver [2004-01] w/NVIDIA 82.12 Fix (here)

SP28787 – Q Menu for Tablet [v2.10 Rev A] | [2004-10-10]

SP24241 – Tablet PC Button Driver [v1.00 Rev B] | [2003-11-07]

SP29116 – Texas Instruments 4in1 Card [v1.011.1 Rev A] | [2004-10-20]

SP24581 – Wacom Digitizer Driver [v1.6.1.3 Rev A] | [2003-09-24]

Install the drivers in Windows XP SP3 compatibility mode.  Right click on the file and select Properties, click on the Compatibility tab.  Put a check in the Compatibility Mode.  Click ok and then double click on the file to install.

File Properties (Compatibility)

I am still playing with and learning Windows 8.  If I come across anything new I will be sure to post.

  1. alfa
    November 13, 2011 at 12:27 pm

    hi also works the 3 buttons?and how?thanks

    • November 28, 2011 at 1:01 pm

      You are talking about the three buttons on the case (Email, Windows Journal, and Rotate) that have the lights under them? The Tablet PC Button driver (SP24241) should enable this. I have not gotten the email button to work in either W7 or W8, but the Windows Journal and the Rotate work. Make sure that the drivers are installed in Windows XP Compatibility mode.

  2. Ralph A Thomas-Smythe
    December 23, 2011 at 4:24 am

    I have Windows 8 running fine on one of my HP tc1100 computers. Everything works but the Wi-Fi. I have the HP WLAN 802.11a/b/g W500 card and I have tried all of the drivers I can find for it and still cannot get it to work. I know the card is good because it works fine with Windows 7 on this machine. Bluetooth works fine on Windows 7 and 8.

    The green wireless indicator light on the lower right of the case is on. Wireless is switched on in the Q Menu. However, the wireless adapter does not show up in the Network Sharing Center/Change adapter settings. It displays Bluetooth and Ethernet connections, but not the wireless connection. In Device Manager double clicking on the displays the message “This device cannot start. (Code 10). Trying to reinstall or update the driver results in the message “Windows has determined the driver software for your device is up to date.”.

    If anyone has information or a suggestion to solve this problem I will appreciate hearing from you.

    For anyone that dislikes the Metro interface as much as I do there is an easy hack to get rid of it and use one that is like Windows 7.

    a. Press Windows Key + r (Windows 8 Shortcuts);
    b. In the Run box type regedit and click on OK to open the regedit utility;
    c. When the User Account Control window opens, click Yes;
    d. In the Registry Editor window, Browse to
    HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer;
    e. On the right hand side of the window, double-click on RPEnabled;
    f. Change its value from 1 to 0;
    g. Click OK; and close the Registry Editor

    I cannot remember where I found this, but it works. You can go back to Metro by following the above instructions and changing step back to 1.

    Thanks,
    rats

  3. December 23, 2011 at 12:10 pm

    Rats,

    I am in the same boat as you. I cannot get the W500 internal Wifi working. I finally put in an old netgear pcmcia card and now get wifi without issue.

    I got rid of the metro as well, but renamed shsxs.dll located in C:\Windows\System32 folder. This disables the Windows 8 Metro windows but keeps the W8 Windows Explorer and some of the other features.

    I am slowly retiring the TC1100. Comes out occassionally, but less and less.

    Let me know if you ever get the W500 card working.

    Thanks
    Cameron

  4. September 30, 2012 at 5:11 pm

    I have upgraded my Win8 DP to Win8 pro via clean install, and I cannot get the nvidia driver to work. How did you get yours to work? I get the error that the driver is not compatible with this version of windows

    • September 30, 2012 at 7:24 pm

      Andrew
      I haven’t tried W8 DP to RTM.

      Did you upgrade from DP to RTM or clean install? Wasn’t sure from reading your comment.

      Did you install the NVIDIA fix that I link to in the post in the W7 compatibility mode?

      Cameron

      • September 30, 2012 at 8:40 pm

        sorry, I clean installed to Win8 pro.

        My nvidia process I did before I posted here was as follows,
        1. Compatibility mode install of SP27014, then tried to change to driver -> error
        2. dl’d 82.12 driver, replaced the required files with the fix zip, Compatibility mode install, tried to change again, -> error

        The reason I did these is i was previously following this wiki page http://techwiki.ca/mpc/index.php?title=HP/TC1100/Windows_7_Installation_Notes

        I have not done what you did yet, but once I uninstall the currently installed stuff I did, I will try the SP27014 with fix.zip

      • October 2, 2012 at 7:48 am

        I also read on the TabletPC forum that the 82.12 fix won’t install because it is not a signed driver.

  5. October 18, 2012 at 3:41 am

    You do like technology don’t you? I will come back when I can

  6. Jeff
    January 30, 2013 at 7:12 pm

    I too can confirm that the video drivers will not install. I am using a retail version of Windows 8 Pro. Got everything working but have not sleep option. Also card reader will not work if I have an external or thumb-drive attached. Once I remove those, the card reader works.

    • February 2, 2013 at 12:38 pm

      Jeff,
      I wasn’t able to get anything after the DP on my TC1100. The process check wouldn’t allow the install and just never went past it. I thought I did see that someone was able to get the video drivers to install (82.12). Tablet PC Forum?

      The TC1100 is like the first love. I will always have fond memories of it. It truly was ahead of its time and I have gotten so much use out of it. Still use it on occasion.

      Cameron

  7. Jeff
    January 30, 2013 at 7:24 pm

    Also like to state that after the failed install of 82.12, with the fix and the modified nv4_disp.inf, my buttons do now work.
    Rotate, Journal and Email all working.
    I installed the drivers in XP SP 2 Mode but still have the MS Basic Display Driver.

  8. james
    April 25, 2013 at 11:39 pm

    for NVIDIA 82.12 Fix, copy in “C:\Windows\system32” and then install SP27014 – NVIDIA Video Driver in compatibility mode XP SP3 ! All other drivers work !!!

    • April 27, 2013 at 10:34 am

      James, thanks for info on the video driver. I haven’t been to install anything post Developers Preview on the TC1100 because the cpu doesn’t meet the minimum speed. I love W7 on it and have other tablets/slates that rock with W8.

      Funny, I still use my TC1100 on occasion at work. We just moved into a new building and we changed the IP addresses on all our printers so with a crossover cable went to each one and changed them. Made it real easy.

      Love the build of the TC1100. The screen size where portrait was really portrait. Inking is great! I am really sad that the there was no upgrade to it. Outstanding device.

      Cameron

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

