Home > 2011, Computers, HP Slate 500 > HP Slate 500 – What is HP_TOOLS

HP Slate 500 – What is HP_TOOLS

When I first got my Slate I started checking out all the stuff and I noticed a small partition of about 98 MB labeled “D:\HP_TOOLS”.  I have seen on some other HP models that there is a recovery partition built in that can be used to reimage your machine, but this was too small.  I looked at it in the Computer Management and there were no other hidden partitions. 

I like a clean install and I really didn’t want this extra partition there if it wasn’t needed.  I immediately sought advice before deleting it.  I am not in the mind of asking for forgiveness instead of permission.

I submitted a post on TabletPCReview forum and it was immediately answered by a member who happens to be the Project Manager for the HP Slate.  He said “Don’t do it”.  “If removed you will lose the ability to flash the BIOS and it will remove HP System Diags”.  Those were plain enough reasons for me to leave it alone and do not touch.

This contains the files necessary to apply flash updates to the BIOS.  It uses Extensible Firmware Interface (EFI).

If you are a bottom line person.

Remove = BAD!!! 

Categories: 2011, Computers, HP Slate 500
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

