Home > 2010, Computers, Gadgets and Tools, HP Tablet PC > Tablet PC (TC1100) as an e-reader (problems with Wacom)

Tablet PC (TC1100) as an e-reader (problems with Wacom)

With Christmas right around the corner it seems that e-readers are the popular gift and it seems that everyone has one, Borders (Kobo), Amazon’s (Kindle), Barnes & Noble (Nook), and Sony (Daily Edition), with a few others.5052936803_4dd93614fb

They seem pretty cool, but to me they seem limited and it’s another gadget to have to carry around with me.  Also, I am not going to read a book on my Droid2, It is barely big enough to read my email.

This brings me to one of my favorite gadgets, the HP Tablet PC (TC1100).  It is a Tablet PC running Windows 7, it has inking capabilities, it can detach from the keyboard to become a slate device with a stylus/pen.  Basically it is my Desktop, Notebook, Netbook, Tablet, Slate, and now e-reader.

I currently use my Tablet PC to read PDF files and it works great in portrait mode (in full page view).  I use the jog dial to advance the pages.  It really works great.  However, I wanted to see if my Tablet would run some of the e-reader applications that seem to be coming out.

I installed the Borders Kobo and Amazon Kindle e-reader applications to see how they would work out on my Tablet PC.  I found an issue right off the bat when I put either application in portrait mode.  The stylus/pen did not work correctly, the orientation got messed up.  The stylus/pen moved the opposite way you move the pen.  I move the stylus up the cursor was at the bottom of the page.  I move the stylus to the left the cursor was on the right.  It was really weird.

The cool part was I went out to TabletPCReview.com posted my problem and one of the members commented back that it was probably the Wacom Driver.  It was weird because I have not had any other problems with any other application in landscape or portrait, so I wasn’t sure what to think.  I have been running the Wacom Penabled Driver v5.08-2a for better of a year on Windows 7 and have not had a problem.  The member recommended using the HP default Wacom driver.

I uninstalled the Wacom Penabled Driver v5.08-2a and restarted.  I then downloaded and installed the HP Wacom Digitizer Driver v1.6.1a (sp24581).

Bada bing!  It resolved the issue with the e-readers.  So far I am enjoying the Tablet running the two e-reader apps, but I haven’t decided which one I like more though.  Still pretty new.

  1. January 4, 2012 at 11:01 pm

    Hey Cameron i like your blog well done!

    • January 18, 2012 at 7:38 am

      Thanks John. Glad you like it.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

