Home > Computers, Reviews, SQL Server > What you’re running SQL on a netbook?

What you’re running SQL on a netbook?

In my previous blog post I gave my review of my new Toshiba Satellite T115D-S1120 netbook. My primary use of the netbook so far has been for checking email, syncing my Zune, a little bit of TweetDeck, working with Microsoft Word, and blogging.  That was until I came across Noel McKinney’s blog post [Post1 & Post2 | Twitter] where he recently picked up a new netbook and installed SQL Server 2008 R2.

My first initial thought was You’re going to do what?  Then it quickly changed to hmmm why not?  You see Noel is one of the lucky few that are getting ready for SQLCRUISE trip with co-Captain Brent Ozar [Blog | Twitter] and co-captain Tim Ford [Blog | Twitter].  Noel is setting up his netbook for the onboard training and why not.  Netbook’s are compact, the battery life is amazing, and they are getting more powerful.  I was amazed that I could get 4GB of ram in mine and that it was 64-bit.

I was still a little hesitant at first to install SQL Server on my netbook.  I wasn’t sure how the single core processor was going to handle running SQL Server, but this is what we do, we think outside the box, we overclock our CPU’s, we put cool spoilers on our cars to make them look fast.  Maybe not the last one, but you get my drift.

Not everything goes faster with a racing spoiler.
Not everything goes faster with a racing spoiler.

Why not install SQL Server on a netbook?  What the heck, I took a good image of my machine and took the leap and installed it.  I installed SQL Server 2008 R2 Developers edition (x64), why not since it is a 64-bit machine.  I also installed Reporting Services and Analysis Services, as well as AdventureWorks sample databases and exercises.

One of the things that I did in my SQL Configuring was I set the SQL Services to manual and I created a desktop shortcut on my desktop (just like Noel explains in his post), so I could start the services when needed.  This will help keep unnecessary services running every time the computer is started.

It’s a little to early to know for sure performance or what exactly I will use it for, but so far I have been very happy.  Stay tuned I will blog more on this.

Categories: Computers, Reviews, SQL Server
  1. August 6, 2010 at 12:16 pm

    Spoiler on a mini-van, that’s a great picture! Just returned to dry land from SQLCruise and the netbook performed wonderfully. It was great to spend a full day in learning and not need to find a power outlet like some others had to do. Same for SQL Saturday #40, my netbook was on all day with no need for a charge.

    • August 6, 2010 at 3:21 pm

      I have been so happy with the battery performance of the netbook even with SQL running. It sounded like SQLCruise was a huge success. Can’t wait to hear more about it.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

