Home > 2010, Gadgets and Tools, HP Tablet PC > My Tablet PC (TC1100)

My Tablet PC (TC1100)

 

 

I love gadgets and one of my current favorites is the HP Tablet PC (TC1100).  I recently picked this up from the company I work for during an employee sale.  These units were originally going to be used as inflight entertainment, but were scrapped when the project was canceled for one reason or another.  They were being used in our training room, but the main application being used required more resources, so they were replaced with desktops and became obsolete. 

The units came preconfigured with Windows XP Tablet Edition, Pentium 1GHz CPU, 512MB ram, and 40GB-4200 rpm drive.  I upgraded the RAM to 2GB, replaced the hard drive with an 80GB-5400 rpm drive, and installed Windows 7 Ultimate (HP Tablet PC specs).  This increased the performance substantially.

This Tablet PC is like a  convertible/hybrid computer (see right).  You can detach the keyboard and the Tablet PC becomes like a slate PC.  You can see a pretty good review and info on the TC1100 here.  It reminds me of the new Microsoft Tablet that Steve Ballmer showed off at the CES conference, except this does not have the touch feature, it requires the pen.

 
 

At home I primarily use it in convertible mode with a rubber case (DK504a) around it to protect it.  It slides over the unit and has an access opening for all of the ports and a slot on the side for the pen to snap in.  It is great when I am sitting on the couch in front of the TV, I will grab the Tablet and I will use it to write out a to-do list for the next day or brain storm about some upcoming project.  I like the size and weight of this Tablet PC as well, just slide it in my backpack or messenger bag without much notice.  I recently packed this with me during the PASS Summit conference in Seattle.  It was very convenient to take notes during the sessions and occasionally check my email.   One of my favorite programs for the Tablet PC is Microsoft OneNote.  I really like the note taking aspect of the program and the use of the pen. 

While this does not have a lot of processing power it is great for basic computing.  What is your favorite gadget?

 

 

 

  1. January 22, 2010 at 5:48 am

    That tablet hardware design is my favorite by far. I love that the keyboard is removable, and yet when it’s on, it really stabilizes the tablet in a traditional laptop form factor. Candace Olsen uses one of these on her show Divine Design, and I grin whenever I see it on her desk. Nice choice!

    My favorite gadget has gotta be my iPhone, hands down. It’s just so freakin’ useful. I’m waiting on the edge of my chair for the new Apple Tablet, though…

    • January 22, 2010 at 5:52 am

      There is a web site that has a list of all the shows and movies that the TC1100 is seen in. Like a cult of some kind. Funny. I love Divine Design (can I say that?). Have I lost my man card? Thanks for the read Brent.

      • January 22, 2010 at 5:53 am

        Well, I never miss an episode of Project Runway, but I’m not a good judge. I also listen to Lady Gaga, so there’s that….

  2. Madi Bennett
    June 22, 2011 at 11:59 am

    Where can I buy this? Does anyone know?

    • July 30, 2011 at 6:12 pm

      Madi you will have to buy this on ebay. prob around $125 bucks. Get an extra battery.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

