Home > Pet Peeves > How to change how new email is marked as read in Outlook

How to change how new email is marked as read in Outlook

There is one setting in Outlook that is the first thing that I change on a newly configured profile.  I have to change how Outlook handles new incoming email.  When a new email comes in I don’t want it to be marked as read when I move off the new email.  I want to either manually mark it as read or open it to mark it as read.  Well there’s an app for that, I mean there is a  setting for that.

Outlook 2010 (Beta)
  Open Outlook 2010
  Click the File tab (located in the menu bar)
  Click Options
  Click Mail
  Scroll down to Outlook Panes and Click Reading Pane button
  Uncheck “Mark item as read when selection changes”
  Click Ok twice to accept and close Options

Outlook 2007
  Open Outlook 2007
  Click on Tools (located in the menu bar)
  Click on Options
  Click Other Tab
  Click Reading Pane button
  Uncheck “Mark item as read when selection changes”
  Click Ok twice to accept and close Options

Now when you click off an unread email it won’t change it as read.

Categories: Pet Peeves
  1. January 8, 2010 at 4:32 am

    Cool – giving it a try but will probably end up going back to the old way. Never really bothered me to have it marked read when my selection changed. Right now, the thing that I don’t like about your way is that it doesn’t clear the envelope icon on the task bar. I cannot function when that icon is displayed.
    =)

  2. January 8, 2010 at 3:45 pm

    It is a default setting so you are probably use to it.

    I don’t like the default setting because I want to control how the email is marked read. As long as that email is still unread it is a “To Do item” for me. David Allen “GTD” would probably frown upon that. I guess it is something that I have done for so long that I am use to it.

    It took me some time to find this setting in 2010, so I had to document it. 🙂

  3. Beth H.
    October 16, 2014 at 9:19 am

    Thank You!! This was driving me crazy and I couldn’t find the setting that needed to be changed. I was missing emails because of this…thinking I must have already read them when I hadn’t. Some days there are just too many coming to be sure you really have read each and every one of them, with them being marked as Read when you deleted one and your active message just happened to become that one. Thanks Cameron!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

